Where’s This Then Pikey?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Maroochydore
November 10th 2009
Published: November 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

DAY 368

Jesus!! I don’t know what is wrong with me, I seem to be getting up even earlier, soon I will be getting up before I’ve gone to bed. It is 5.00 a beautiful morning here in Maroochydore after a heavy, heavy down pour of rain in the night, but we were warm and dry in the Wendy House.

Again we were going to pack up the trailer again this morning as we were taking it over to Best Trailers in Caloundra so that they could possibly fit some new bushes to the springs and generally have a look over it just to be sure that it is tickety boo after its long journey so far.

I pottered about and when Caroline came to we had a quick breakfast and a shower then folded the trailer and hitched her up. Our plan was to drop the trailer with Joe at Best Trailers, then pop around the corner to Evakool to see what was happening with the fridge.

When we got to best trailers we looked at our wish list of the things we would like for the trailer and looked at the list of things we needed, unfortunately things we need are never quite as nice as the things we want.

On our travels we have always carried a 40-litre drum of water, plus a 20 Litre container and a 10 Litre container of water. Did you know that litre of water weighs 1 Kilogram, so 70 litres of water contains 70 Kilo’s, (half the weight of my enduro bike) so we had to distribute the water around the Patrol and the trailer.

Our Idea is to have a water tank fitted to the trailer, as it would save us a huge space in the Patrol, and the trailer. I asked Joe to Price an 85 Litre water tank and I winced at the price, if we had been working I wouldn’t have given it a second thought.

Joe said I could fit it myself which would make a hell of a difference in cost so we went for that option and he would supply everything including the fixings.

We also needed a new set of bushes but had taken the trailer over to Joe to fit the bushes as discussed yesterday, however when he saw the trailer he said that he
Mount CoonowrinMount CoonowrinMount Coonowrin

Glasshouse Mountains, Queensland.
didn’t have the bushes anyway so packing up the Wendy House and dragging it all the way over was somewhat a waste of time.

Now yesterday when we went to Evakool the service was really good, and they said that they “may finish with the fridge by today” but more than likely finish it by 08.00 in the morning and the benefit of this was it could be on the test bench overnight, assuringly Brody said that he would ring us and let us know what was happening!!

Well Brody hadn’t so after our chat with Joe, nice chap and very funny, we then went around to Evakool. Now, It does make you wonder what changes overnight. We walked in to the service reception and was acknowledge by the girl who we saw yesterday, well she had to acknowledge us as I was standing on the welcome mat that kept ringing a bell and she asked me if I would move off it to silence the bell.

A young guy had his back to us and It looked like Brody, when he turned around he just looked at us, as if we had just walked a load
CrikeyCrikeyCrikey

Steve Irwin still very much present in these parts...
of dog poo in on our shoes, certainly different to the way we were treated the yesterday.

I said to Brody that as he hadn’t phoned us, as he said he would we thought we would drop in to collect the fridge, the look of utter disdain adorned his face and he said the reason I haven’t phoned you is because we haven’t even looked at the fridge yet!!

Great!! This is somewhat different to what he told us yesterday and somewhat different to the treatment Jarrod at Camping Country said we would get.

I just stood there, it was one of those jaw dropping moments, when I was stumped at what to do and quite speechless.

Caroline and myself looked at each other, then the girl in the service centre said that they would get it done by 2.00pm today, so I assumed they would call us.

We left Evakool somewhat dumbstruck and decided that we would go and have a drive up to the Glasshouse Mountains look out where we first went with our dear friends Gary and Karen and when we tried our swag out for the first time.

Our first
Swag TestSwag TestSwag Test

This is where we put the swag on our first night out....
time swag adventure can be read on Blog day XXXX date 25th November 2008 title “The Glass House Lookout.”

The Glasshouse Mountains are as beautiful as ever and fond memories soon flooded back, the only thing it lacked today was sunshine, it was quite chilly up in the mountains, it started to drizzle so we were not much interested in doing the walk up there, so jumped back in the Patrol to head back down.

We headed back and were so surprised at how the road network had changed around Beerwah, they were upgrading Steve Irwin way and as we drove past the zoo Caroline asked if I would like to go there again. As much as I think it is excellent I am a bit over it now and would have to leave it a while before I went back, though like I said, I think it is an excellent zoo and would recommend anyone should visit.

We got back to the campsite by late afternoon, after setting up the trailer tent again, Our neighbours Walter and Jeanette were back from their day out so we had a cup of tea and a scone with them, then sat reading for what was left of the day, although Caroline was doing a lot of stuff on the computer, certain administration stuff still needs taking care of, such as our mail redirection, checking bank accounts and all that jazz.

Again we had to plan what we were going to have for dinner, as Evakool still had our fridge and its contents, but Caroline reminded me that today is indeed Tuesday or Cheap Tuesday (Pizza Night) so we didn’t need to worry about cooking anyway.

we told Jeanette and Walter about Cheap Tuesday, so we all agreed to book our pizza online then we would go and collect it.

We sat for the rest of the evening talking about their Home in Glasgow, I love Glasgow just a great city and other things. They too are big wildlife fans and they showed us some recent pictures they had taken on their travels, not to mention the photos that they had done at Australia Zoo with a Koala and a Python (not at the same time I hasten to add otherwise the Koala could have been snake food!)

About 8.30 Walter and Jeanette said they were off to bed and my eyes were dropping anyway, Caroline said she was going to stay up a while longer and down load a program she has been following on the, Packed to the Rafters.

So while everyone was in bed I sat in the darkness of our tent watching Packed to the Rafters on the laptop, then I set about typing up the blog for yesterday. By 11.00 I was tired, I went across to the amenities block to clean my teeth, by then the whole campsite must have been asleep I felt as if I was the only one up and about, so jumped into bed., Andy was already fast asleep and herding pigs in.

It had been a cool evening but no sooner than I got into bed, the rain started so I zipped up the window to stop the rain coming in and was soon fast a slumber.

Goodnight!

Advertisement



18th December 2012

travel NZ
I loved reading your blog, i did some traveling in OZ too, http://loosejournal.blogspot.co.uk/

Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0668s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb