Rain in the Rainforest!?!?! What a concept.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Inn The Tropics
April 3rd 2010
Published: April 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

SkyrailSkyrailSkyrail

dance party!
3 April, 2010:

Fall break came and instead of driving the 5 hours from KU to see family, they were gracious enough to fly the 16 hour/ 2 day excursion to see me. What a funny dimension time is...or maybe I should say spacetime. Either way a new perspective is gained when flying long distances...loose days and gaining days as if they were chips in a poker game.
Our first excursion day was spent visiting the rainforest. We took the skyrail rainforest cableway up to Red Peak, Barron Falls and then to the city of Kuranda. As alluded to in the title, it did rain for most (23 hours and 55 minutes) of the day but in the end I guess the rain made the RAINforest experience more realistic. And to be really optimistic we got more for our money by participating in a complete mult-sensory adventure!
Originally we were scheduled to take the skyrail there and the train back but due to, you'll never guess, excessive rain, a landslide from the week prior caused a temporary hiatus in train travel.
The heavy fog during our skyrail travel was slightly reminiscent of a Stephen King novel,
Stephen KingStephen KingStephen King

unfortunately we aren't in a grocery store.
possibly a scene out of "The Mist" minus the prehistoric monsters...or maybe we just couldn't see them.

The following photos were taken with my standard digital camera plus the addition of my dad's old (my new) Pentax 35mm.


Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

My first kangaroo!My first kangaroo!
My first kangaroo!

they are just so frickin' cute.
I'm going to steel one becauseI'm going to steel one because
I'm going to steel one because

they are just so frickin' cute
Second cuttest animalSecond cuttest animal
Second cuttest animal

although looking into their eyes I secretly think they wanted to attack me....therefore I used the zoom lens. OR maybe they were just upset because I told them C-3PO wasn't real.
Barron FallsBarron Falls
Barron Falls

At full capacity


3rd May 2010

we were there
We were thrilled to be able to move a trip to Australia to the top of our "Bucket List" when Lindsay decided to go there for school. Yeah the plane ride is surreal but the end justifies the means. We had soooo much fun! The thunderous power of Barron Falls is like nothing I've ever experienced. and kanagroos are just so frickin' cute!!!

Tot: 0.144s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1093s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb