you say Cans and I say Cairns


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
July 23rd 2011
Published: July 25th 2011
Edit Blog Post

My flight is at 6:20 AM, the shuttle is at 4:50 and my alarm is set for 3:30. I am more than ready to leave Darwin. The city is noisy and busy. I like more of the outback towns of Alice Springs where it is more small town atmosphere.

I make it to the airport 30 minutes before the flight and just to the boarding gate as they begin to board. First time on the no frills Jet Star. Trust me it is very budget. They don;t even have signs directing you to the plane. The walkway and steps lead to the outside and 2 planes are sitting there. I had to ask a ground crew member which plane was going to Cairns. He had to ask someone. Now I am a little worried about the capabilities of this airline. Entire flight is manned by orientals so I assume this is an Oriental company??

NO WORRIES MATE - I make it to Cairns without mishap and who gets in the shuttle with me but a whole group of Michigan state students. My first group of American so far. The young girl that sat next to me even distanced herself from them and said that she is really from Pennsylvania. But go Spartans nothing against them its the other team!

I am in love!!!! Cairns is the best of beach towns. Get downtown with lots of little shops, resturants and a large shopping mall with everything you could possibly want. The boardwalk is great the beach front is great and everything is within walking distance.

The Travelers Oasis is the greatest little hostel I have ever stated in. John the Welshman at reception is so funny, and so helpful. The place has a pool, laundry and 2 kitchens and multi bathrooms to choose from all in a neat little compact area. I am staying 5 nights in a private room with a fridge and a shared bathroom for only 288.00 total. AWESOME!!!

I have gotten my map from john and I plan to explore the city.
The first place is to Rusty's market. Just a couple of blocks down. It's a fresh fruit market that is only on Fri. Sat. and Sun. I buy fresh oranges, apples, grapes, a red pepper and half a cantalope. Then I go the Woolworths ( grocery store) and buy Doritos, candy, pop and peanuts. You can't live by health food alone(Nixon, 2011).

Did I say that I love Cairns!

It's been a long day and I have booked snorkle tours for the next 2 days. Don't know if I will be able to sleep tonight!!






Additional photos below
Photos: 17, Displayed: 17


Advertisement

I think it's calling my name!!I think it's calling my name!!
I think it's calling my name!!

Come see me!!! You will have Fun!! You will win!
Travelers OasisTravelers Oasis
Travelers Oasis

Fantastic Hostel
John the WelshmanJohn the Welshman
John the Welshman

John The Great - he can multitask a million things and never miss a beat. He will be traveling next year, starting in SE Asia then all through Africa.


25th July 2011

Cairns, Can Can, Tucan, Can Too,
Wow again. What a great trip. You are now my official trip advisor for Australia. The photos are great. I fly Jetstar all the time. It is budget but usually direct you to the plane. Must just be Darwin Jetstar and the back woods, so to speak of Oz. Pretty basic by the sounds of it. Another adventure story to be told. Beware of the dolphins in Cairns.
27th July 2011

:)
Angie! I am enjoying every minute of your trip!!

Tot: 0.124s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb