Goodbye Cairns- The captions on the photos have got in a muddle but I am sure you can solve the puzzle


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
October 24th 2009
Published: October 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I can’t quite believe that I have been in Cairns for two months, especially when I look back at my first blog entry from Cairns and remember how homesick I was. I have had a good time, experienced many new things, met some wonderful (and not so wonderful) people and learnt loads. Since my last blog I have sold raffle tickets at the local supermarket for the Lion’s club (so I am now officially a Lionette), visited Josephine Falls and another winery. I was mocked at the waterfalls because when asked why I was not going in the water I explained that I was scared of the crocodiles. I have since found out that there are no crocs in the fresh water falls and maybe should of thought about how they would to climb up the steep rocks! I also treated my self to a Chinese massage at the night markets.

O n Wednesday I did my last shift at the Italian restaurant. At times I have enjoyed working there but it was hard work and carrying plates is not skill which comes naturally to me, although my ice cream shapes did improve .My best waitressing skill was talking to the customers. One night the manager subtly commented that it was a good job they don’t pay ‘per word’.

I am very excited because Paul arrives at Cairns airport in the morning!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
We are going to stay in Cairns for two nights and then start our road trip down the east coast. I picked our vehicle today. It is called a spaceship and is a Toyota people carrier, which has been converted into a mini camper van. It has a fridge, cooker, dvd player, bed and a tent which extends out the back. I only just about fit in it, so it is going to be quite snug. I have spent the day cleaning it and getting essentials! Paul does not know that I have already picked it up and prepared it so I think he will be surprised when I collect him from the airport in the ‘spaceship’. It’s name is Xeno Torque which I don’t like much. The van that was collected just before I got ours was called ‘Flying Dutchman’, which sounds much better. Please let me know if you have any suggestions of a new name.

I am going to show Paul around Cairns and then we are going to the Jensen’s for a traditional Aussie BBQ. On Tuesday we will head south towards mission beach for skydiving, then the Whitsunday’s, then on to Fraser Island and finish our two-week road trip in Brisbane. Paul will then fly home and I will continue on my travels to Ayers rock.

I am really looking forward to the next few weeks but will be sad to say goodbye to The Jensen family because they have been so kind and I really feel ‘at home’ in their home.

I hope everyone is well.
Hayley xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx




Additional photos below
Photos: 15, Displayed: 15


Advertisement



25th October 2009

Drive carefully!!
A big,big thankyou to the Stan and Myra Jenson for taking Hayley into their home and looking after her so well. We are so grateful for their kindness and to all their family who have welcomed her and made her feel part of the family. Hayley speaks so fondly of all the Jensons and I think if it hadnt been for all their kindness she would have been on the first plane home!! Drive carefully Hayley and Paul and enjoy your travelling. Dont tell me when the sky diving event takes place just let me know when its all over and your safe on the ground.xxxx
25th October 2009

Ta Ta for now
Loved the photographs, loved seeing you so happy and loved your camper, wish I could share it with you love nanny xx

Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0438s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb