I got the job!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
August 27th 2009
Published: August 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

I got the job at the Italian restaurant!! It is in the centre of Cairns right on the sea front. I started on Tuesday and really enjoyed it, although it was hard work. I had to do a mad dash to the shops to buy some black trousers and shoes. This proved to be quite difficult. All of the trousers were far too long and they don’t do my shoe size. In the end I had to buy long trousers and some black shiny kid’s shoes. The shoes were a big mistake and I ended up with blisters. So for shift two I bought a new pair of ‘black boys Dunlop trainers’. They look interesting!

Yesterday I went to Port Douglas, which is one hour North of Carins. The coastal drive to Port Douglas was beautiful. Next we went t Mossman Gorge but unfortunately the bridge was closed so we only went to the look out. Today we drove to an Aboriginal community called Y. It is only in recent years that non- Aboriginals have been allowed to visit the community without a permit. The area was beautiful but many buildings had been vandalised. Apparently the Government provide a lot of funding for the Aboriginal community but unfortunately the community is not looked after. There was rubbish everywhere and stray dogs chasing the car. As usual I needed the toilet but wished I had not gone in. It was disgusting! I have been to some horrid toilets in Kenya and other countries but these were awful! This afternoon I have been sunbathing in the garden.

I will be moving back into the city at the weekend. I looked at many house shares but they are all a few blocks away from my work and I have been advised to not walk there at night. So, I booked into a nice hostel on the seafront only two doors away from my work. I went in the hostel just at the right time because I explained to the manager that I would be staying for a couple of months and she offered me 2 hours of cleaning 6 days a week for free accommodation!

I will be travelling down the East coast at the end of October.

Hope everybody is well.xxxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 40, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

Hayley and MyraHayley and Myra
Hayley and Myra

Sorry it is a bit dark


28th August 2009

Well done Hayley! So glad you are enjoying yourself. xxxx
6th September 2009

G'day Mate!
Well hello Miss. Balchin, how the devil are you? Sounds like you're having a great time and hope you are settled in Cairns now. I'm sure if you're staying in a hostel you'll meet people all the time and well done for scoring free accommodation! I had a great summer with my 2 weeks in Spain, weekend in Dublin, weekend in Paris and pooping myself about starting school in between!! Weds was INSET and kids were in Thurs and Fri. So far so good although I was shattered by Fri afternoon and I feel like my brain is overloaded! Proper teaching starts Mon so hoping once we're in a routine all the things I'm still not quite sure about will all fall into place! Anyways, hope you're well my dear and enjoying yourself. Miss. Briffa xxxxx

Tot: 0.122s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 6; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0597s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb