Thats Not How I Remember The 80s!!!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Cairns » Cairns City
January 17th 2009
Published: January 31st 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tonight was very eventful. Firstly, I took myself forward to the 80s Party Night at the Tapas Bar in town which was pretty bizarre actually. The music as ever was awesome which is really no surprise considering I am an Eighties nostalgist...they even played Men Without Hats 'Safety Dance' too which was really insane!! I so love that song and the video is almost as crazy as Jo and I what with maypole dancing and dwarf exploitism...Big S's Everyone wahoo!!! Unfortunately, there were not many people in to do the big S's (cue record slowing to a stop)! You know when you walk in somewhere and you automatically get the feeling something isn’t quite right somehow, this happened to me after about ten minutes looking around when I said to myself 'Bad Move Steve'. It wasn’t because the barman was dressed up as George Michael in a bright yellow shirt, mullet wig and a huge medallion dangling from his neck or even that there was a very convincing Marilyn lookalike complete with hot pants or even that the photographer had a pink suit (though all of the above on reflection should have been a slight clue)...the penny only really dropped with a huge 'PLINK' when I spotted several blokes kissing...maybe they were Marc Almond, Boy George, Andy Bell, Paul Rutherford and Holly Johnson or the Village People in their civvies!! After about an hour of watching the fun and frolics (mostly frolics as it goes), the mind boggled one moved on to PJs and their Coyote Night featuring scantily clad girlies dancing on the bar....fascinating springs to mind!!!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.121s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0886s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb