My arrival in Australia =)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Brisbane » St Lucia
July 15th 2010
Published: July 15th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Finally I touched the Australian Land,

well...actually I did so on wednesday, exactly at 2 o' clock in the morning. What can I say? So far I did still not suffer the jet leg..maybe because I have been doing soo much since I arrived. Having had 5 hours of decent sleep at "Somewhere to Stay" -a ver nice hostel @ West End - I woke up at 8 and went to campus! And let me just tell you: the St.Lucia Campus of University of Queensland is just FANTASTIC! I mean, it has like everything, is like a town!! I promise I ll soon post some pics! Well, at campus I opened my australian bank account, I enrolled for courses (I must say, I got some pretty nice ones, one is about China and its potential to become nr. 1 in the world!) and then went to city to get a sim card!So now, I feel a bit more integrated! The city is AWESOME!A mixture btw New York city and...ehm, maybe Berlin!
Unfortunately, I still did not find accomodation. I went to look at a couple of places today around the campus area...but were really not good. Tmw I have to more places to look at and hopefully will get to make some more phone calls.
Aussies?So far my impression is that they are really nice people. Helpful in any kinds of ways and sweet. I dont know why the Americans I ve met refer to them as "one of the most hating population in the world"....mmm...well..I really dont know, but then again..they are Americans :P
And well, I got lucky! The first day at campus I attended a "Getting Started session" and I ve meet a very sweet girl from Holland: Anne. I have only been in Australia for 2 days, but I spent them all with her! =) And she will be studying Economics as well, so thats promising!😊))
Still have to get used to have strange animals going around...I mean...strange birds would go around the campus and the most amazing things is that there are turkeys everywhere!! I mean, who would have expected that?:O

My next days will be very busy. I really cant wait to have my own place and finally feel settled! But i must admit that the backpackers hostel I m staying at enables me to meet so many people coming from just everywhere in the world.

I promise you I ll keep u updated.
Miss you loads,
xOx
Alessiya


Additional photos below
Photos: 51, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

UQ Campus!UQ Campus!
UQ Campus!

40.000 students - 5.000 Stuff people!
Amazing Amazing
Amazing

This is the faculty of Arts! :)
DSC06123DSC06123
DSC06123

The gardens are huge and the students usually enjoy the sun here, when having breaks!
The UQ UnionThe UQ Union
The UQ Union

Here you find all sorts of bars, cafes, fast food, restaurants... UQ is a real town! At campus u would find a hairdresser, the dentist, a pharmacy, and all other kinds of shops!
The IT room The IT room
The IT room

Yes..only APPLE computers at UQ!
Meric enjoys the facilities at UQMeric enjoys the facilities at UQ
Meric enjoys the facilities at UQ

Meric is also a CBS student =)
Brisbane RiverBrisbane River
Brisbane River

The Brisbane river has salty waters...this is why its full of sharks!! -and some crocos as well;)


15th July 2010

Tesooooooo!!!! che figata!! sn troppo felice che ti stai trovando bene!! spero che riuscirai a trovare una bella casa in poco tempo!!! dai dai che stai vivendo un'esperienza fantastica!! fai tante foto e faccele vedere!
16th July 2010

Truly great babe.. Let us know what's going on (: ..Love you
18th July 2010

Australia wooowwwwwwwww
Hi Ale, I wish you all the best for your stay in Australia and hope everything will be as your wishes over there and accomplish what you want :-)) Kisses from Italy, Zafer
18th July 2010

Australia wooowwwwwwwww
Hi Ale, I wish you all the best for your stay in Australia and hope everything will be as your wishes over there and accomplish what you want :-)) Kisses from Italy, Zafer
18th July 2010

Australia wooowwwwwwwww
Hi Ale, I wish you all the best for your stay in Australia and hope everything will be as your wishes over there and accomplish what you want :-)) Kisses from Italy, Zafer
18th July 2010

Australia wooowwwwwwwww
Hi Ale, I wish you all the best for your stay in Australia and hope everything will be as your wishes over there and accomplish what you want :-)) Kisses from Italy, Zafer

Tot: 0.067s; Tpl: 0.013s; cc: 14; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0354s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb