Alessiya is settling :)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Ingham
July 18th 2010
Published: July 18th 2010
Edit Blog Post

Hello everybody, long time, no see!=)
Finally I have settled down😊On Friday morning I moved in in my new house, and what a house!!!
I promise you I will soon post some pics (I tried from my laptop, but it didnt work, so I ll try from the campus computers later today!)
Well, my room is quite spacious and has all utilities, like a comfy bed, big closet, desk, TV, MIRRORS (I really needed them!:P)The house is very big: a big living room, 4 bedrooms, an amazing kitchen (I cooked on Friday and it was like cooking at my home back in CPH, thats a very good sign=)!!), 2 bathrooms, and a biiig terrace with a swimming pool=) The house is surrounded by beautiful plants and trees and looots of birds 😉
I live with a beautiful Korean girl, Julia (that s her English name...did u know that they can choose their own English names and change it whenever they feel like? Julia came to me on Saturday asking me if I thought her name fit her, otherwise she would have changed it!!!hehe). Another room is occupied by Alicia, from Australia. She is 26, and recently graduated from UQ as an architect=) Then the last big master room is Kelli's. Kelli own the house, and is an accountant. I believe she is 35, but not sure. A lovely person, who unfortunately is only living in the house half of the week, as she has a summer house in Brisbane and likes to spend her last days of the week and her weekends there!=) Our neighbor (who is practically part of the house, as we already love him so much and refer to him when Kelli is not here) is Gerald (but everybody calls him Gery); He is a Scottish 79 years old man (but I can promise you, he looks like he is not more than 60!!), and he s the sweetest person! He has been living in the Oz , since 25 years old (he blames it on a woman he felt in love with!) Yesterday evening he invited us for dinner at his place and we had Chinese food and a glass of red wine😊 It was very cozy!
On Sunday, Oliver, Anne and I went to the Lone Pine Koala Sanctuary!Let me start by telling you that I seriously thought there would only be koalas in there and was not aware of the fact that there were tons of other aussie animals, like kangaroos!You can imagine how I was when we arrived there and realized I was in heaven!! Oliver and Anne had to calm me down, cause I was euphoric!! :P
Well, it really is like heaven. It was not a zoo, but I wildlife reserve😊 It had all kinds of animals, like platypus, snakes, dingos, all kinds of birds, koalas, kangaroos ( u could just approach them and pet them!), HUGE bats (never seen anything like it!!), wombats, lizards, and more and more😊
At some point we went to a bird of prey show, a kind of demonstration with eagle birds (God, they were HUGE!) and owles! During the show, there was one bird in particular, an owl named Milo who didnt wanna fly over the arm of the tamer so she asked if there was any volunteer who would try. Well,,she didn t have to ask once more!! :P It took me one second to put my hand up and go there as a volunteer!!! And of course, I put the glow on, put some red meat on it and called: Miiilo! And Milo flew on my arm!It was amazing!Such a beautiful owl!
But my favorite animal is the kangaroo, FOR SURE! I could have spent hours petting them!But hey, the python was nice as well, it has such an amazing skin😊
This week will be pretty intense, full of introduction courses, finding books and getting to know people😊 I feel ready!! 😉
During this weekend we will go up north, to the Gold Coast😊 Cant wait!!

I ll keep u updated, and hopefully add some pics finally!!

xOx
Alessiya

Advertisement



20th July 2010

Aaaaaaaaaaaa che figata teso!!!!!! devi assolutamente mettere delle foto!! che bello...sn contenta per questa tua esperienza :) anche se mi manchi tanto tanto tanto! spero che la prima settimana all'università vada alla grande!! ti voglio bene!
21st July 2010

Hi from Italy Pic's.....:-))
Hi Ale, we are all anxious for your pictures :-)) and hope everything is fine over there .... Pls. take care of you... Kisses from Italy Zafer

Tot: 0.137s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0737s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb