I'm still in Mackay, where I definately still don't want to be.


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » Queensland » Airlie Beach
February 6th 2007
Published: February 6th 2007
Edit Blog Post

The road was apparently clearer now (I'll put a photo on of what it looked like in a bit) so Greyhound sent a bus up which we were on at about 9.15am. Got to Airlie at about midday, and was a bit wet and grumpy. Paul was still in the hospital, and turns out the reason his ankle didn't hurt was because he'd burnt through the nerves in his foot. Bad. He's been transferred to Brisbane to get it sorted properly there, so he's a bit buggered really. Back in Arlie, I borrowed Mark and Jess' room for a shower and managed to get my stuff checked in, and be at the induction meeting by half one, where we were told that there was only one boat going out as so many people hadn't made it. I should also mention that it was still pissing it down. And I was really grumpy. Also having not slept properly for the best part of a week wasn't helping my mood.

Met up with four canadian guys I'd met on Fraser Island (they were the ones I went to the lake with on the first night) who were really nice guys, so was very relieved to see they were on my boat. Hired the stinger suit (so I wasn't eaten by jellyfishes) and bought myself some beers for the boat.

Should've mentioned actually, they found my Ipod so it's waiting for me in Brisbane. Anyway...

Made our way down to boat, dumped the stuff, and noticed that we had a really good, friendly group. Apart from me. Anyway, too wet to sit on deck (was a catamaran), so we were all lumped downstairs which turned slightly into a beerfest. Arrived on island resort in the rain at about 5pm, dumped the stuff to make the most of happy hour, which did indeed make us happy. Ended up being an absolutely brilliant night, noone seemed to mind that the weather was awful and got on with having a big party, which was really good fun. Very pleased I made it!

Advertisement



6th February 2007

Phew!
It was alright in the end...phew!Im v. pleased about your Ipod..not a good thing to loose. I am reading your blog at 8.00am when I should really be in school but some things are more important!I am also hoping that the sun will suddenly come out, so that the thick ice that is covering my car will melt so that I dont have to scrape it all off!I love hearing all your news so keep writing + putting pictures up.Loads of love..a very chilly Babs x x

Tot: 0.092s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0546s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb