its winter already?


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
June 24th 2008
Published: June 24th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Its winter already here but I'm heading off to warm sunshine next week...actually tomorrow. I can't believe how fast the time has gone, it seems like I just got here but then the first things I did seem so long ago. I have just finished my exams at Sydney Uni and my time here officially over, yay! I am really excited to be finished with classes and exams and travel. Winter here is not that bad.... the high is only in the 60s and it rains a bit more. Its rained a lot recently but I was lucky that it didnt on my bushwalk. My legs and hips have not been so sore in a long time. Mary and I convinced some of our Australian friends to take us on a bushwalk (hiking in America) in the Blue Mountians. We did a 2 days walk through the blue gum forest down a route that had some recent landslides which made the walk a bit difficult. After camping over night we then walked out of the valley pretty much straight up huge stairs for 3 hours but it was all worth it at the end to see the great views. After the bushwalk we drove over to the touristy sights of the blue mountains and saw the 3 sisters rock formation.

In early May my mom and grandma came out for a week to visit me and see Sydney. I had a great time with them and was able to do some fun things as well as show them some of my favorite places in this city. We went up to Hunter Valley for a day, took the ferry (one of many times) to the zoo, walked across the Harbour Bridge, went to Manley and Bondi Beach and my mom took pictures of the opera house every day. We also went to a princess Diana exhibit at a museum, walked through Darling Harbour, the botanical gardens and very importantly did some shopping.

Last week I went to an Australian Football game which was cool to see.

I am leaving Sydney tomorrow afternoon to travel Queensland for 3 weeks.

-megan



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement



24th June 2008

Can't believe the trip has gone this fast! The Blue Mountains look spectacular! Looking forward to having you back in Seattle for your "summer" and the end of the Nordstrom Sale (hee hee). I have the VEGAMITE and the Nutella in the cupboard!! What a wonderful experience it was to travel with you in Sydney :) Where to for the next adventure?! Safe travels for the next month or so. See you soon. Love, MUM
25th June 2008

You look wonderful!
Megie, You are looking terrific and we are eager to see you at the Lake in August. Your walkabout sounded so good, I got to see only the tourist part when I was there. Enjoy your Queensland adventures and I hope to get up there one of these days. Let us know how the fun travel is going and we look forward to more news as you move on to new territory. Hugs and lots of love, G Mum
25th June 2008

Safe Journey
Megan, Wow, what adventures you have had! The images are beautiful. Enjoy your time off from studies and take it all in...you will soon be back in Seattle. Hopefully, by the time you arrive, we will be having some real summer weather. Hugs, Linda
10th July 2008

Keep having fun
Great photos from your bush walk. Looks like fun. We all miss you back here in Seattle. Better get back soon to see how well Maddi is hitting that fuzzy yellow ball. She may give you a run for your money! Gary

Tot: 0.053s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0325s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb