melbourne/ moved


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
April 22nd 2008
Published: April 22nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

hey, so I have been busy with stuff the last few weeks, I was meaning to write something on here a while ago but where I was living the internet got turned off for the last two weeks i was there, but now i have moved and have internet again. It made doing school assignments harder than they should have been.

Since I last wrote anything I traveled to Melbourne during my Easter break. Melbourne reminded me a lot of Portland and sadly it rained the days i spent in the city so that was not fun... seemed like the Northwest. I did get lucky with warm sunny weather the day I went to the Great Ocean Road which is a scenic drive starting at Bell's Beach and going west along the south coast of Australia. It reminded me of driving down highway 1 on the California coast, and right after I told someone that our tour guide said that the road was modeled after highway 1. I got to see koalas in the wild and lots of pretty beaches on this drive and the best part was i could look out the window and not worry about driving or where i was going. The next day I took a trip to Phillip Island and saw the fairy penguins that come out of the ocean shortly after dusk every night in groups of 100s. I also went to an animal rescue center and saw more Australian wildlife, wombats, koalas, kangaroos, wallabies and some others too.

After I got back from Melbourne the weather has been really rainy so I haven't gotten back to the beaches in a while but I did go up to the Blue Mountains one day. I need to go back and do a hike/walk and see the waterfalls and what not. I went to a Red Bull event and watched homemade flying machines go off a 6m ramp and plunge into the Sydney Harbour. Just last weekend I moved to a new house where I will stay until my finals are over in June. Then I will be off to travel up the coast and go snorkeling, sailing, swimming, surfing... all the fun stuff and I will be going to Thailand for 10 days to spend more time on beautiful beaches before I come back home to reality. I cant wait till classes are over so I can travel. In a short time my grandma and mom are coming to visit so I'm looking forward to that. Other than that I'm doing well and I hope everyone else is too.

love, Megan

i am putting a link in to my web album of pictures from my Melbourne trip... sorry there are kind of a lot.

http://picasaweb.google.com.au/Mego42087/GreatOceanRoadFairyPenguinsMelbourne




Advertisement



22nd April 2008

I'm jealous
Australian seems to be treating you well (except for the rain in Melbourne) and Thailand sounds very exciting. Hope you continue to have a gas during the rest of your time down under. Sue and I went to see Maddi play tennis against Eastlake last week. She's coming along. Somehow, she's gotten much more agressive on the court than she used to be (a good thing). Sue and I leave for 4 weeks in the Southwest US very soon (early May) so we'll have a little play time before we see you again. Keep having fun! Gary
23rd April 2008

Cool pics.
Hi Megan, I'm glad to see you are having such a nice time in Australia. Thanks for sending along those pictures. They are very nice and make me jealous that I'm not there. Keep up the good work. -Uncle Jim

Tot: 0.057s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.035s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb