My last free Weekend Part 2


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
March 2nd 2008
Published: March 9th 2008
Edit Blog Post

SurferSurferSurfer

Here is a random surfer.....far out! hahahaha
Sunday - March 2nd 2008

Another amazing thing to do in the final weekend before school starts is go to the beach. We decided on Saturday to go the Bondi Beach and check out the Bondi market. Upon waking up to a miserable gray sky I was disheartened. I didn’t know what to do. I wanted to go to the beach but it looked so gross. I went down to breakfast and chatted with people for at least an hour. Then I went back upstairs and Brittany had decided just to go to at least see the market. So, I decided to try it out as well. We met Nicole and walked to Hyde park where we caught an express bus to the beach.

The market was very nice and little. It was much more relaxed than the Paddington market on Oxford street. The market was located between a church and a primary school. In the school yard they have very cute blacktop paintings that would be great for promoting learning games. For example there was a painting of a crab that had a spiral of letters inside it. I imagine this being used to play word hopscotch or
AustraliaAustraliaAustralia

As depicted in a blacktop painting that I think would be a lot of fun to make games around.
spell things out by hopping from letter to letter. There was also a painting of a Zebra that had lines with measurements at each of the lines that you could use to test your standing long jumps or height or stride length. There was also a map of Australia that included the states, which would be good to help teach them their geography. You could play games like name the city and you have to run and stand where you think it is, or to the state that its located in.

The infamous Bondi Beach was nice but not as impressive as I expected. It was bigger than Coogee but not very huge. My favorite part was that we remembered to bring a sheet to put our towels on to avoid some of the annoying sand getting everywhere. Also I enjoyed doing some light reading on the beach.

One of the coolest things that we saw were the rock pools and amazing waves crashing on the rocks on the side of the beach. The rock pools are a very historical thing in this area. Some of them were even built by the convicts way back in the day.
The poolThe poolThe pool

Wouldn't you like to be in the ocean but in a little more protected and secluded place. Well here it is.....
I was trying to take a lot of cool pictures in this area but I think only a couple really came out.

After a long day at the beach we were exhausted and made it back to the House in time for the end of dinner. Where we realized that everyone was getting ready to go play some sports at the Square. Even though we were exhausted how could we miss a chance to play cricket for the first time. So we wolfed down our food and ran upstairs to change into some athletic clothes. We met everyone over at the Square where they had already started so we had to jump in and get the rules explained to us on the fly. I was able to actually bat and score a couple of runs so I was very proud. After a little bit we decided to play some American football. I was excited because this is a game I somewhat understand and can do. Unfortunately it was put together by some American boys who decided it would be great to have a quarterback and everyone else play man on man so we just ran around with no routes
SplashSplashSplash

Here is a really high splash on some of the rocks at the end of the beach.
our plans. I think we were chickens with our heads cut off but it was still kinda fun. Then they decided to change it up again and we played a modified game of touch Footy kinda like Rugby. I was explained the rules but they played the game in such a fast paced manner that I had no idea what was going on and just ended up walking around the field very confused. Overall it was a very fun evening and it reminded me how much I like the people in the House and I am glad that I can call them all my friends. We have plans to do this kinda thing more often and I can’t wait.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.358s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 8; qc: 52; dbt: 0.2757s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 2; ; mem: 1.1mb