TGIF


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 22nd 2008
Published: February 27th 2008
Edit Blog Post

2/22/08 - On Friday we decided to take a break from walking because our feet were really sore and I tried to get some stuff taken care of on campus. I called Richard Light who is teacher here who came to UT several years ago and is kind of my link for coming to this UNI. We had talked earlier in the week abut finally meeting in person. I met him at his office and we went next door to the campus union to “have a coffee”. He is a very nice person and talked to me in length about his interests and the course I planned to take from him, Sport and Learning in Australian Culture. He was very exciting and inspiring to listen to and it got my hopes up for taking the class. He also gave me some ideas on a class to take that would count for biomechanics but still be on the main campus. (I discovered on Thursday that the biomechanics class was conducted on a different campus an hours train ride away from the main campus. It was also put back to back with classes from the main campus on my schedule, which would be physically impossible to attend.)
After talking with him for an hour and a half I rushed across campus back to the house for my first lunch at the House. It was not very good. Some weird pizza, and cornbread cake, and a rice pilaf or something. Then I rushed to the theatre on King St. to meet Sarah and we saw The Kite Runner. The movies here are so expensive. At 1:45 I paid $10.50 for a student ticket. The movie was totally worth it. It’s been a while since I read the book but watching the movie made me feel like I had already seen it because it worked so well with the book.
Then we trucked across campus to the Library for the last 15minutes that the computer lab was open. (Everything closes so early here). I tried to find the course Richard Light told me about but I couldn’t find it. So I ran back across campus hoping to catch him before he left his office. I got a printed copy of the course syllabi and en e-mail. I e-mailed it home and got it approved to take to count as biomechanics. Sorry to all of you reading this that this doesn’t make any sense but this was stressing me out a lot so I feel like I have to put it in here. Basically if this didn’t happen I wouldn’t graduate on time….
Then the big news happened. I bought my internet to have in my room so now I am more connected. YAY! It’s still expensive here to be on the internet so I won’t be on too often but much more than when I was having to go to the pub or coffeeshop to bum some free internet.
After dinner Sam and Sarah came over and we hung out at the House. We mapped out some plans of what to do in the morning and then played a feisty rally of ping pong. It was hard for me to just hit the ball back and forth because I am so used to playing doubles rules of hitting every other ball. Maybe next time we can play with a little more structure so I won’t get really confused.



Advertisement



Tot: 0.083s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0453s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb