Boredom strikes


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
February 6th 2008
Published: February 12th 2008
Edit Blog Post


Day 114 - Tuesday 22 January

Arriving in Sydney at half ten we didn't have far to walk to our hostel. We'd been offered a cheap deal in Byron Bay and its only costing us $17 a night. Not only is it ok, but it happens to be right across the road from Ji-Wons apartment block. That'll be handy. Unlike me though shes on a working holiday and is currently working for Greenpeace, so i've had to delay meeting up until tonight.

After doing my laundry I went for a walk around the shops with Russ, where I came across a florist selling some cheap red roses. As Ji-Won was ill over the weekend I bought one, it should buy me some good brownie points later. Although it was a bit embarrassing walking with Russ and carrying a red rose.

After having a rest back at the hostel it was time to meet Ji-Won. I was a little worried as she'd told me a few days ago that shes put on 2 kg in weight since I left and is now on a strict diet. Luckily she didn't look like a porker when we met up again. As she was still recovering from a heavy cold we didn't actually do that much and after a short walk ended up going to starbucks. I hate starbucks back home I can't believe I keep going with Ji-Won.

Day 115 - Wednesday 23 January

I don't know what it is about Sydney but i've fallen into my old ways. It was 1pm before I woke up. We'd planned in going to the beach today, but as most of the days already gone, we headed to the Botanical gardens instead. There actually really nice gardens, so we spent the whole afternoon sunbathing there.

At 7pm I headed out for another date with Ji-Won. Dinner was rubbish but then we went to watch a Korean movie. I'd been looking forward to seeing one for some time and it was actually really good. I'd expected it to be a poor standard but it was good a quality as any American or english movie. Even though it was all in Korean and there were no subtitles, it was also surprisingly easy to follow. The basic plot was that a huge, ugly fat girl was the voice behind a famous singer and fancied the record producer who was being really nice to her. However he was only being nice because he needed her voice. She finds out and walks off. She than has a load of plastic surgery done and becomes beautiful and thin. Not recognising her the record producer really fancies her so signs her up and she becomes very famous. The old singer who has since been dropped as she cant actually sing, finds out who she really is and threatens to expose her. Before the news hits the media the ex fat girl confesses during one of her concerts and becomes an even bigger star. Not sure if she gets the guy or not, I couldn't understand that bit.

The cinemas are also different. Instead of watching the film in a big room with other people, you get your own private room. Im not sure how much it actually cost as Ji-Won paid, but they're great. Definitely the way to watch a movie. You get a big 40 inch plasma tv with speakers all around the room and a huge leather sofa to watch the movie from. The door also locks for total privacy and you can select the lighting to suit the mood. I just hope theres no cctv cameras in there.

Day 116 - Thursday 24 January

I actually made it up at a reasonable hour today, so after grabbing breakfast we headed to catch a ferry over to Manly beach. Although quieter than last time, it was still reasonably busy. Its a hot day though so the sea was a welcome relief and doing a bit of body surfing I actually managed to catch some good waves.

We stayed there the whole day, before heading back for dinner at scruffys one last time. Tonight Russ heads off to Melbourne for a few days before going back to Thailand. After a farewell drink I met up with Ji-Won again and spent the evening having a stroll through Hyde Park.

Day 117 - Friday 25 January

With Russ now gone, and Ji-Won at work all day, I didn't really have much to do today. I've already seen everything I want to in Sydney and I'm trying to get back on budget so don't wont to spend loads of money just to pass the time. Luckily as the tennis is on in Melbourne, there are loads of big screens dotted around the city showing the games for free. So I headed down to one and passed the afternoon by watching the ladies doubles final.

After having a short rest back at the hostel I headed back out. Unfortunately Ji-Wons on a work leaving do tonight so I was left to watch the mens semi-final on my own with all the cities homeless.

Day 118 - Saturday 26 January

Today its Australia day a huge public holiday here in Australia with music concerts all over the city and a firework and light show tonight on Darling Harbour.

At 4pm I'm meeting up with Ji-Won to join in the festivities, so spent the morning on the internet researching whats going on today and catching up with events back home. As its the ladies singles tennis finals also today, I managed to watch that before meeting up with Ji-Won.

Even though theres concerts in all the parks, we want a bit of piece and quiet so had a picnic in the Botanical gardens instead. Early evening we headed over to Darling Harbour to watch the fireworks. The show started with a parade of boats and then all these people on a giant screen talked about how much they loved Australia, but nobody was really interested we just wanted the fireworks to start.

Day 119 - Sunday 27 January

I've fallen into a bit of a daily routine whereby I wake up late morning then pass the rest of the afternoon on the internet. Today was no exception.

Ji-Won shares her apartment with 8 other people. As they were all out for the day, she invited me round for lunch. Unfortunately i'd only been round for 10 mins when 2 of them returned early. They seemed surprised to see me so once we finished eating we decided to leave and headed to my hostel instead.

Two of the people im sharing with were on a trip today which only left one other person im sharing the dorm with. Another english bloke. Unfortunately he was still in but upon seeing us immediately gathered his things and announced he was pooping out for several hours. Very decent of him.

After spending the afternoon in my hostel, we headed out for a quick bite to eat before I said goodbye to Ji-won and watched the mens final. It was then time for a well earned rest.

Day 120 - Monday 28 January

As Australia day fell on a saturday, its a public holiday today. With Ji-Won off work we've decided to go to the Blue Mountains for the day as shes yet to go.

Having forced myself up at 8am I met Ji-Won then we made the 2 and a half hour journey there. As i've already been (see my earlier blog), theres not much more to say except it was a pleasant enough day.

It was already mid evening by the time we returned to the city. I'm having to move hostels tomorrow as my current one will no longer give me the current discount rate im on. Instead they want to charge me almost double. I booked myself into the same hostel i'd stayed over christmas and new year.

Day 121 - Tuesday 29 January

This morning I changed hostels. Inside its a bigger mess than when i'd been there last time and that was bad enough. Oh well I guess after a few days i'll get used to it and it does have free internet and dvd hire so passing the time should be easier.

Because i'm staying city central the beaches are all about an hour away on the public transport so I headed for the botanical gardens instead to do a bit of sunbathing. Its a hot day though and with no sea to cool off in, i'd had enough after a couple of hours and headed back to the hostel.

Although Ji-Won is working here in Australia as she already speaks good english, the rest of her housemates are all at language school learning english even though there in their late twenties. Tonight its somebody's birthday party tonight so I wasn't planning on seeing her, but as she was missing me so much she came round to see me with an invitation.

On entering her apartment everybody was drinking, talking and listening to music, but upon seeing me everybody stopped introduced themselves and then gathered around me in a semi circle. It was like I was a movie star or something (i was the only non korean or thai there). It was weird they just wanted to talk to me rather than carry on the party. So i spent the next 2 hours talking about my life so far. The Thais were particularly proud of the fact I enjoyed their country so much (they really are a great friendly nation), although having visited all the cities they were from with Ji-Won sat next to me I had to deny any knowledge of many of their favourite bars, even though i'd had great times there.

Apparently i'm a really good teacher far better than the ones they have at the language school and they all asked me if i will become their private tutor. Maybe its something ill consider once i've done my travelling. After accepting a dozen dinner invitations I finally said my goodbyes.

Day 122 - Wednesday 30 January

Did the usual morning routine of getting up late then using the internet for an hour, before moving onto my current afternoon routine of heading down to the park for a sunbathe.

I actually got a little bored at one point, and for one insane moment thought about trying to get a casual job. Luckily I soon came round. Usually if i was bored, i'd move on but as i'm on my own for another fortnight and trying to spend as little as possible in that time, theres not much point. Besides I can see Ji-Won in the evenings so theres no point spoiling a good thing.

Later that evening I met up with Ji-Won to watch another Korean movie. It was a bit of a girls film but then I didn't go to watch the movie.

Day 123 - Thursday 31 January

As per yesterday I spent the morning on the internet, before going to a park to soak up the rays. Early evening the clouds rolled in and it started raining, so I passed the evening reading and watching a dvd.

Day 124 - Friday 1 February

Although I woke up quite early today it was raining so I spent the morning as per usual on the internet. By lunchtime the rain had stopped but its heavily overcast so no sunbathing today. Not to worry, i've been waiting for a day like today so I can visit the library,

On route I stopped off at various shops looking for toileteres. I've got plenty of spare time so I might as well save a dollar or two. I'd expected to be easily able to buy this sort of thing cheap but surprisingly its more expensive than back in the UK. Asia had been the same, they dont seem to have gypo shops like Poundland or Wilkinsons anywhere else.

At the library I was also dissapointed to find that all the travel books on New Zealand or Fiji my next 2 destinations had gone missing. So I headed back to the hostel to read my book instead.

Chinese new year is coming up and apparently Sydney has the biggest celebration in the world outside of Asia. The festivities start tonight and as chinatown is only around the corner I popped round. Unfortunately all the Chinese performances had been cancelled for some reason so I had a quick look round the stalls. I was dissapointed with the size of the setup. Considering its supposed to be the biggest celebration outside of Asia its a surprisingly small setup. Most of the stalls were also run by white Australians not exactly chinese is it.

So I left and went to meet Ji-Won. Tonight were going to Kings Cross. When I'd gone earlier with Russ and Simon I hadn't liked it but as a lot of the travellers have moved on i'm hoping it will be a bit quieter and better. Ji-Won told me that Korean guide books advise you not to go as its not a safe area but as it doesn't look any worse than any english town centre on a friday or saturday night I assured her she'd be quite safe.

Once again I wasn't that impressed and neither was Ji-Won. However she did want to visit one of the numerous strip clubs as she was curious. What is it with you girls? Back home you think strip clubs and sex shows are for sad losers, but you go abroad and suddenly you all want to go. I probably missed out on something here and am going to regret it, but surprisingly it was me who didn't want to go so I persuaded her otherwise.

As there was a party going on back at Ji-Wons we only stayed in the Kings cross area for one drink before deciding to head there instead.

Day 125 - Saturday 2 February

As I hadn't had much sleep last night, I spent most of the day in bed asleep. By the time I'd got up and done my laundry it was already early evening.

Tonight im taking Ji-Won to the opera. I didn't understand a word of it, but then I guess thats opera.

Day 126 - Sunday 3 February

Todays supposed to be a bit of a double date down the beach with myself, Ji-Won, her roomate and her date. However its raining today, so those plans have been scrapped. Instead however were going to have a bit of a get together at Ji-Wons. Her roomate had actually invited 2 blokes along one from Korea the other from Indonesia, over lunch she decided which one she wanted to spend the rest of the day with. It was intersting to see the 2 blokes competing for her affection. (I should mention that not only is her roomate really pretty, but shes also full of energy. Shes one of those girls that a guy just cant help but like ). The Korean guy won and the Indonesian bloke was sent packing.

After that it was still raining outside so with nothing else to do we started drinking the 4 litres of wine we had. I also got taught a few Korean drinking games which were really good fun. However they have a rule that upon losing although the guy has to drink the drink, a girl can pass the forefit onto any guy she asks. If he accepts, after drinking she then has to do whatever he wants without arguement. As Ji-Wons not much of a drinker, I was often drinking for two but then built up some good rewards. When the wine ran out, we bought another 4 lites and a bottle of soju a Korean spirit so we could carry on.

Ji-Won never ceases to amaze me. Only yesterday she'd told me that not only is she an expert violin player, but when she was living in Taiwan she played the piano semi-professionally. Well today she informed me her older sister is a famous model back home in Korea. Naturally I didn't believe her despite everybodys assurances, so out came the family photos and the internet and gosh shes right. (Unfortunately she got married last year so if anybody wanted me to arrange them an introduction i'm sorry, besides get in line).

Finally around midnight we called it a night. With the exception of myself everybody had to be up early in the morning. It was a fantastic day, probably one of the best i've had in Australia and I only spent $10. Just goes to show money isnt everything.

Day 127 - Monday 4 February

Its absolutely bucketing it down today. After sheltering all morning using the internet doing yet more New Zealand research I went to get lunch. Even though I was only outside for about 10 seconds I got drenched.

After watching a dvd, the rain had stopped so I took the opportunity to head to another library i'd spotted during the weekend. Luckily they had some good travel books so I was able to finish my research.

Unfortunately the rain was coming down heavily again, so I ended up getting drenched for a second time. I didn't fancy getting soaked for a 3rd time so spent the evening sheltering in the hostel. Ji-Won popped round for a brief while to give me a massage before leaving me to pass the time by watching another dvd.

Day 128 - Tuesday 5 February

Although the rain has stopped its still very cloudy and looked like it could rain at any time. Once my usual morning routine was completed, I went to the cinema to pass a couple of hours.

I was supposed to be playing football tonight with all the Thais i'd met on friday night, but the rain has unfortunately put it on hold. So Ji-Won texted me if id like to go for a spa with her instead. Apparently in her apartment block on the 5th floor there are 2 swimming pools, 2 jacuzis, a sauna, steam room and a gym, all for free. I can't believe shes only just told me course i'd like to go. Its one of the few things i've misssed since leaving the UK. After having some fun there, we finished the evening off with a walk round Darling Harbour.

Day 129 - Wednesday 6 February

Tomorrow its Chinese New Year, an event also celebrated in Korea where its a public holiday and a time to visit relatives and swap gifts. A bit like christmas. Ji-Won told me as she's in Australia she has to work and wont be getting any presents. Now although I wasn't that fussed about christmas last year I still wouldn't have gone to work, and was glad i had some cards to open. So after the usual internet routine, I went to chinatown to get her a card and present. Should put me in good favour tonight where were off to the cinema again.

Amazingly the rain has also stopped and the suns shining, so I took advantage and spent the afternoon soaking up the rays in Hyde Park.

Unfortunatly even though she was super impressed with my card and present, Ji-Won cancelled our planned trip to the cinema. Its her time in the month when I get done over and were off to f'ing starbucks instead.

Day 130 - Thursday 7 February

With Valentines day only a week away I'd better get my thinking cap on. The one thing i've got plenty of is time, its money im short off. So I had a search around the shops for something that although cheap will impress.

It then rained yet again, so I sheltered back in my hostel for a bit before trying to find a pub showing the England v New Zealand cricket game. Unfortunately being in Australia I couldn't so defeated I sat around the hostel bored. I was so bored that I went to the bottle shop to buy some booze. Its been 4 days sice I've had a drink and i'm supposed to be on holiday. That should pass the time.

Day 131 - Friday 8 February

After my usual morning routine, I decided to go for a walk around Chinatown. For some reason I was missing Asia and it was good walking round. I can't wait to go back.

Although not raining its very cloudy which rules out sunbathing so instead I went back on the internet. As the England cricket team are currently playing New Zealand, i'm after some tickets. Im also trying to hire a car so we can tour New Zealand road trip style.

Theres another party at Ji-Wons tonight so I headed round there early evening. Tonight there should be quite a few people from Japan attending, so im looking forward to it.

Day 132 - Saturday 9 February

Woke up and it was raining again. What is it with this country its as bad as England. Don't be fooled by the marketing image of Australia being the land of blue skies and an easy life. It aint.

As it was raining I didn't want to venture too far for lunch so stayed in Chinatown. With it being Chinese new year, there was a chinese dragon performance going on in the nearby shopping centre. The guys were amazing, balancing on small pillars raging from between 2 and 3m high, they were leaping between them in full costume. It must have taken months of practice. Its also got me thinking perhaps instead of America I should spend the summer in China. With the olympics on it should be some show.

I've not had a haircut since about three weeks before I left the UK, so as you can imagine my hair could do with a bit of a tidyup. Theres quite a few Korean hairdressers around and there really cheap. Infact there far cheaper than a backstreet barbers shop, but im a little worried I might end up with some strange Korean style haircut, so I took Ji-Won along to act as my interpreter if needed. However I needn't have worried, they did a good job and it only cost me $10. I dont know how they do it but the Koreans seem to be able to sell everything cheaper than the Australians. Russ and myself have often bought tickets for things from Korean travel agents as they're cheaper, and tomorrow Ji-Won and myself are going dolphin watching. Booking through a Korean company its half the price of the Australian and backpacker ones.

It was then time for another trip to the movies. This time I put my foot down, no more girly films so we saw a gangster movie instead. It even had English subtitles so I was able to follow all of it. Well almost all.

With it being saturday Ji-Wons roomate had gone out for the evening, so we took advantage and I spent the night at Ji-Wons.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.141s; Tpl: 0.017s; cc: 12; qc: 25; dbt: 0.1145s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb