Dolphin Watching


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Port Stephens
February 13th 2008
Published: February 15th 2008
Edit Blog Post

Day 133 - Sunday 10 February

Were off to Port Stephens today to go dolphin watching (unfortunately its out of season for the whales). The bad news is I had to be up by 6 am to get the coach there. I haven't been up this early since I got my flight from Singapore almost 2 months ago, and I felt knackered. Infact its so early people are still making their way home from a saturday night out (They have proper 24 hour drinking here). Its also freezing, with clear skies thankfully it will be lovely and sunny later but as autumn approaches at this time of the morning its a bit chilly. Definitely time to leave Australia soon.

As I mentioned earlier we booked the trip through a Korean travel company so everybody else is Korean and the guide was also explaining everything in Korean. Not understanding a word, I sat back and snoozed most of the 4 hour drive there.

Once there we were herded onto a boat and set off in search of dolphins. I hadn't really expected to see so many but after only a few minutes sailing there were loads swimming all around the boat.

Back on shore we stopped off for lunch, before heading for the sand dunes. The Koreans were all in awe as they dont have anything like it back home, but having grown up near Lytham St Annes I couldn't see what all the fuss was about. We also had the opportunity to go sandsurfing again. Although the dunes were only half the size of the ones in Mui Ne (Vietnam), the boards were much better so it was actually more fun.

After that we still had time to hit the beach then visit a winery and sample loads of different wines before we had to set off back for Sydney.

It was already evening by the time we returned and after a short rest I went to watch the Manchester derby. At half time with city 2-0 up, I couldn't see utd getting back into it so went to bed.


Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement



Tot: 0.094s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 40; dbt: 0.0671s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb