Big Day Out - Gold Coast Jan 2007


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney
January 23rd 2007
Published: January 23rd 2007
Edit Blog Post

Big Question.........Big Question.........Big Question.........

Hmmmm..............Shall I go to the Big Day Out on the Gold Coast, and spend the day listening to top bands, enjoying the sunshine, and drinking beer..........? Hmmmmm.........
First of all - Happy Birthday Ben (my brother)! Hope everyone is well, and thinking about you! Oh, and Mr Alan Eaton, Happy birthday to you too, if you are reading this, you old git!! ;0)

Well, now I've got the nice-ities out of the way, I can begin the important stuff.

I need a job. No seriously I do! Stop laughing, at the back! I've finally arrived in Sydney and have got 3 months to find a job here so I can stay in this lovely City.

As I walked down the street this morning, two lovely white parrots flew right over my head, and they didn't even crap on me. Thats got to be a good omen, hasn't it? The Romans invaded countries for lesser omens than that, so I think it's only right and proper that I invade Sydney!

As much as I would love to set up a Diving School in Byron Bay, I think a good stepping stone is to get a job in Sydney, doing what I was doing in London. Whilst some people would say "Not Much", I would rather call it "Fund Management".

So, if anyone knows any
EUREKA!EUREKA!EUREKA!

I know what! I'll go to Church and play with my huge organ, whilst seeking divine inspiration!! After a couple of renditions of "What shall we do with the drunken sailor?" I knew that I was destined to go..........
contacts over here, then please get in touch, and I will be eternally grateful. (Ok, I'll buy you a beer, but that's it!)

In the meantime, I've been sampling the Aussie culture at the Big Day Out music festival, on the Gold Coast near Surfers Paradise. It's only one day, and we even stayed in a hotel, so it was all very civilised! Check out the pics.






Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 23


Advertisement

First stop - Nessa!!First stop - Nessa!!
First stop - Nessa!!

First stop before heading up to Brisbane, was to stop of in Sydney and head to Nessa's where I'm now staying! It's great to see her again, and she's living in a great house with a small yappy puppy dog who I took to the park. He wouldn't go more than 2 metres from me, until he saw a pretty poodle and he was off!! Had to go and retrieve him, just as he was sniffing the poodles ass and rubbing his paws together, preparing to engage........Dirty dog!
Henry and SyxxHenry and Syxx
Henry and Syxx

This is Henry and Syxx. I travelled through SE Asia with Syxx for a few weeks, and she's the one that got me a ticket and organised the whole thing! Thanks hon! x
Syxx and TimSyxx and Tim
Syxx and Tim

How cool is my hat?!
Lily and Tim.....Lily and Tim.....
Lily and Tim.....

Lily Allen is definitely pointing at me here!
Lily and Tim.....Lily and Tim.....
Lily and Tim.....

She's singing this song just for me....................! ;0)
Ooopps.........Ooopps.........
Ooopps.........

Hold it in everyone!!! And listen very carefully for those announcements of wind............
KasabianKasabian
Kasabian

They were actually pretty good. I know none of the music, but they sounded Mancunian, so that will do for me. (unless of course it turns out that they are scouse or yorkie, then I'll have to reconsider.......or even worse - Man United fans! Aaaaghhh!)
Optical illusionOptical illusion
Optical illusion

I was very proud when I came up with this idea! I'm standing about 20cm closer to the camera than the girl, but because of some good camera work from Syxx, it looks like were kissing! Who says the camera never lies eh?!
KillersKillers
Killers

I knew I should have bought their new album, as I only know the Hot Fuss choons. Never mind at least I knew all the words to "Smile like you mean it" and "Mr Brightside" etc to impress the locals!
The StreetsThe Streets
The Streets

Dry your eyes Mike! You're on the Gold Coast for crying out loud! On stage in front of thousands of people cheering for you in the sunshine! You can forget your drink and gambling problems for one hour can't you?!
The StreetsThe Streets
The Streets

Still moping, Mike. And that t-shirt's not doing you any favours.........
The StreetsThe Streets
The Streets

That's better! Although this is your last song and thats it, so back to drinking and gambling backstage for you, my boy! Who's next?
HmmmHmmm
Hmmm

No idea who this was, but they had lots of flashy lights and things........
HmmmHmmm
Hmmm

Very nice!
Henry!Henry!
Henry!

You lucky devil! You wait til their boyfriends see this. And their boyfriends are L A R G E! Bet you won't be able to smile afterwards!
Henry!Henry!
Henry!

Oh dear, the evidence gets worse...........
Great idea!Great idea!
Great idea!

'What we'll do is this. We'll get a man dressed up as a Turkish Delight bar, stick a mirror ball on his head, and give him an umbrella. Then we'll get him to dance like an idiot on-stage whilst this really beautiful model in a bikini dances behind him! Genius!' I would love to have been smoking whatever it was that they were smoking when they dreamed this one up...........!
Great idea! 2Great idea! 2
Great idea! 2

No, I'm afraid this one wasn't trick photography..............It really was a man dressed as a Turkish Delight bar, with a mirror ball on his head..........
He's funny!He's funny!
He's funny!

Just trying to make a point! (Get it?!)
Playful girls!Playful girls!
Playful girls!

Bless their little cotton socks!
Back to Brisbane to catch my flight back to SydneyBack to Brisbane to catch my flight back to Sydney
Back to Brisbane to catch my flight back to Sydney

Nice shot this, isn't it? Look at the expert way that I'm holding the beer. Carressing it lovingly! What an expert! Oh, and the view's not bad........
Cheers Syxx!!Cheers Syxx!!
Cheers Syxx!!

Thanks Syxx for getting me a ticket and inviting me along! Had a great time! x


Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 12; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0158s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb