Just got out of Hospital! HAPPY CHRISTMAS


Advertisement
Thailand's flag
Asia » Thailand » South-West Thailand » Ko Tao
December 25th 2006
Published: December 25th 2006
Edit Blog Post

First of all, HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!!!

It certainly is a happy day for me seeing how I've been in hospital for the last 3 days and I've just been let out at 10am local time on Christmas day! Spending the last 3 nights hooked up to a drip, lying on a solid bed listening to the music, dancing and fireworks from around the island drift through the window hasn't been exactly the Christmas I'd envisaged! Anyway all is well now!

I think what sealed my fate, was on the beach in Koh Samui a few days ago when I wrote "Happy Xmas" in the sand and was gonna put the picture on my blog to make you all jealous! ;0)

Well, I certainly got my come uppance! 2 days later, which included 2 hour seacat journey to Koh Tao, during which around 70% of people puked, not me though! I was admitted to hospital with bronchitis.

After a rather large first night on the island, I woke up to a horrible cough, and had lost my voice. I'd had these symptoms before and knew I needed some antibiotics. So I popped along to the local clinic where, after 5 minutes I'd managed to procure only some cough medicine, which I bought just so I could leave the place.

I decided on a second opinion, and found another clinic, which immediately took my blood pressure and temperature (102) and blood pressure (140 -whatever that means), had the doctor listen to my chest, and within 5 minutes I was hooked up to a drip and been injected with a huge dose of antibiotics.

I'd misunderstood the doctor when she said that I'd get one injection and then could leave.... I ended up staying 3 nights, with the nurses checking my drip every 20 minutes, having to swallow 4 huge pills after each hospital meal, and having 2 huge injections per day! All the time, everyone else was out diving, and enjoying the sunshine!

Still, at least I'm out now, and the rest of Christmas day to enjoy! I might even sneak in a cheeky beer to celebrate! ;0) But don't tell the doc!

So, if you were thinking of me, and wondering which beach or bar I've been spending my time in, then have a chuckle at my expense, and remember that not everything goes exactly to plan!

HAPPY CHRISTMAS EVERYONE!!!





Advertisement



25th December 2006

Merry Xmas
Happy Xmas! I can't believe your still travelling! What an awesome adventure mate. Been a while since Guatemala and Caye Caulker. I'm well and truly in the Army now and should graduate from the Academy in August. Have to catch up when you get back. I'll bring Helena along. Merry Xmas
25th December 2006

Boxing Day a la Golf Club
Won't be the same without you Sir! Happy Christmas.. hope you're ok.. if its any help, i spent christmas eve on intensive care... but i was getting paid for it ;o) xx
27th December 2006

feeling sorry for the traveller!
Good to hear you see alive and kicking...hope the cheeky beer was worthwhile, it was certainly required. Greetings from a heavly sunburned rich in marautius! Hope to catch up soon. All the best.
27th December 2006

Happy Xmas
Sorry to hear that you were stuck in hospital for Xmas - at least it's one you won't forget and will be boring people at dinner parties (remember them?!) for years to come. Have a good one and see you back in the UK at some point. Cheers, Lal PS - still loving reading about your travels, even though I am stuck at my desk!
28th December 2006

My fault ?
Your illness nothing to do with our exertions I hope. Took the boys back to the Office and inadvertently crashed a wake . Ice asked after you !
31st December 2006

Happy New year honey, hey you didnt say you would be on my island for crimbo, could have got the guys to look after you, more to the point the girlies!!!! anyway enjoy, need any advice just shout.Take care Zoxxx
9th January 2007

Happy Christmas and New Year from Kevin, Alison, Emily and Matthew

Tot: 0.113s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 14; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0525s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb