Bloody Marvelous


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Surrey Hills
February 23rd 2006
Published: March 15th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Aah Get The Party StartedAah Get The Party StartedAah Get The Party Started

No guessing for which two were first to start dancing in the kitchen that night!!
Hello!! Oops didn’t realise it had been quite so long since I last wrote anything!! What have we been doing, well!!! Not that much actually!! Also, I noticed that the pictures at the end of the last blog weren’t for that time so I’m going to move them and put them on this one! I’ve also had to put this onto two entries as it seems I had more to gab about than what I originally thought!!!

On the night that I wrote the last blog Lyds, Phil and I went to a house party at one of the other houses owned by the same people as ours! That was really good and we met some new people as well!! The Sunday we went down to Circular Quay where we bumped into someone we had met in Thailand! We had a drink at the Opera Bar which was full of gay men! I think its because of the theatre influence but was quite amusing anyway to see them all trying to pull etc and looking very beautiful. There were defo a few for you there Squidgy!!!

On the 16th January I started working which was a bit crap. On the Thursday, I went to Govinda’s restaurant which is basically a Hare Krishna run affair where you get all you can eat curry buffet and an arty film for $21.00 dollars I think which is really good. You can’t drink there but we had some wine on the street oops, which is very naughty, but we’d bought it before we realised and it was rude not to drink it!!

Then the Friday I met Zoe and her husband and friend at a swanky restaurant called the Kinglsy, I didn’t eat as it was a bit too swish and also found out that my job had finished that day so was watching the pennies! Went to a swish bar afterwards called W Bar, which is really posh but ridiculously expensive! But it was cool and it was really really good to see Zoe and Lee and spend some time gossiping etc! Afterwards, I went back home and we all went out for Chris’s birthday to a bar the name of which I can’t remember! Everything got really messy and I think we eventually got kicked out at about 5am, oops! Was sooo tired it was a joke!

The Saturday I don’t think we did anything. Might have gone to the beach but I don’t remember so it can’t have been that fun! The Sunday we went to Coogee with the boys from next door for a BBQ on the beach! It was lovely to be able to do that! We had chicken, sausages, burgers, corn on the cob and salad! They are public BBQ’s and are gas operated, with a metal plate that you cook on. We had to wash the metal plate with Coke though, which concerned me greatly! If it cleans cooked on food off metal what’s it doing to my teeth!! We went on the beach and stuff and I discovered that I am not good in big waves. I got completely wiped out and ended up being washed up on the beach with all my bits and bobs hanging out! I’d started out in water up to my waste and the wave had washed my right up onto the beach! It would have been quite funny had it not happened to me. Afterwards, Hanayo and me went for one drink with her friends in the pub with beautiful views of Coogee!

The week after
Now We're Cooking On GasNow We're Cooking On GasNow We're Cooking On Gas

BBQ at the beach, hurrah!!
I didn’t work for a week which was amazing, I really appreciated doing nothing in the sun! Basically the Monday we went to the outdoor pool for a bake and then on the Wednesday Leyla and Magu came to Sydney, yey! That night the 25th was Hannah’s birthday so we went out then for a few and ended up in Scu Bar where Hannah made friends with a Maltese boy! Scu Bar is basically like a student bar and most people in there are travelers. It’s also open (good lord just had the Church of Jesus trying to sign me up! They made a mistake there; I’m not sure who was keener to get away them or me!!!) Anyway, back to the blog! It’s open late and so everyone is usually wasted which can be funny/annoying depending on your mood! Anyone who has been to Scu Bar will also be familiar with the kebab shop opposite it, hmmmmm that’s become a favourite (mixed meat with lettuce, onion and mint sauce if you were interested!!).

The Thursday we went to Bondi Beach with Leyla and Magu. I love Bondi its beautiful but the waves are huge! This was my first
Coogee BeachCoogee BeachCoogee Beach

Very Beautiful! This was at about 6.30pm!!
time there and so I was really excited. I found a nice bit to play in but the rip was quite strong so I had to be careful! Thursday it was Australia Day which is a public holiday in Oz where everyone behaves nicely and enjoys the free shows put on! Everyone does seem a lot better behaved than in England. You still do get the troublemakers but you don’t seem to see as much of it. I haven’t seen or heard of one fight since we got here and we’ve been to a range of places.

Anyway, the morning of Australia day we meant to go down to Darling Harbour to watch the boat race but didn’t get up and so missed that. We went down anyway as there were people dressed up walking around and some free shows and stuff so that was good. Later we went back up to Hyde Park where there was free music all day! Me and Leyls bought some $2.00 hats that were made of glitter with the Australian flag on. Very fetching. There were two stands one with like soul music on and then another that was kind of miscellaneous music! The band we saw were amazing and played all sorts of music. They used a wash board and a trombone and the spoons etc and whilst they were playing they did sort of magic tricks! It was all very entertaining!

We had a taste of some feta cheese that was $15.00 a jar but that was flavoured with chilli or olives and was fantastic, if I were rich enough I’d be seriously addicted! My favourite part though was the display of old cars that were there. Lots of different Holdens and Jags and Mg Austin Healy’s; a VW camper van with all the original furnishings! Very good! That night we went to a local bar where the landlord was really unwilling to serve us alcohol and moaned the whole time about having to spend Australia day serving to Poms, but I don’t think anyone had told him that if it hadn’t been for the Poms then he wouldn’t be in Oz now!!

The Friday we went out for dinner for Hannah’s birthday to a local restaurant and then the Saturday we went out at night to a club in town. Siobhan, Linc and their friend Brad came but we left quite early as the music wasn’t that great and I might have been a little bit tipsy!! I stayed at Siobhan and Lincs that night and we went to Balmoral beach the next day which was lovely and by the end of the day had the best tan ever, I’ve never been that brown before and probably wont again!! That night Leyla and Magu cooked us a lovely chicken salad tea as they were meant to be leaving the next day but missed their train, doh!!

That week I started work at a public Sector Union, calling people up and asking them why they hadn’t made their union payments. Not the best job in the world and I don’t think it goes down too well when you’re a British person asking Australian’s for money, oh well!! The best part about the job is that it’s a 15 minute walk from my house so their little or no effort involved in getting to work on time which I love and its free travel, hurrah!!

We didn’t do anything in the week at all. It’s been really difficult to organise to do stuff as Lauren and Lyds work
The Three Of UsThe Three Of UsThe Three Of Us

(Us being Chris, me and Hanayo!)
during the weekends and night etc and me and Hannah work 9-5 during the week days! I think what we might end up doing is just having a week where we do stuff when we’ve all finished our jobs and that way we can do stuff together.

The Friday night we went down to Darling Harbour to a bar called Cargo Bar! I really loved the music there, even though some of the people were a little pretentious! I woke up at 5am on Saturday morning still with full make up and my hair still up, oops! I went to look at a house that morning or rather a room has Hannah had decided that she wanted to move out, partly to get her own room and partly because here is so expensive! I also had a hair appointment that day and when I got there the hairdresser kept finding pins that were still in my hair from the night before! I was so embarrassed and couldn’t stop talking and in the end he just gave me a pile of magazines to read, I think to keep me quite!!!

Got some DVD’s that night and the Sunday can’t remember what we did. Probably just more mooching around I imagine.

Anyway, enough for this blog! There's more on the next one, have split it into two!

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx


Additional photos below
Photos: 31, Displayed: 28


Advertisement

United NationsUnited Nations
United Nations

Hanayo (Swedish/Japenese), Bettina (Australian) and Alex (French!)
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

Some Cone Men
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

The City With A Boat
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

Leyls And Magu In opposite Directions
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

The Spinning Tower (i think it rotates anyway! There is a bar and restaurant up there!)
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

This is the amazing band i tried to explain that used loads of original types of instruments
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

Leyls in her pretty hay! (I had one too, nice)
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

Magu, striving for the "gazing into the distance" model's pose, did he pull it off?
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

The cars! My personal favourite, the 1976 Toyota Celica, hmmmm!!
Australia DayAustralia Day
Australia Day

This one (I think!) was the Austin Healy that i liked!! Hint hint for Christmas!


Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 15; qc: 56; dbt: 0.0723s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb