New House New Job (hopefully?)


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Erskineville
March 9th 2006
Published: March 9th 2006
Edit Blog Post

That week, starting Monday 6th of February we didn’t do anything! But we had two new boys move into our house! Aj and Chris! Very amusing! AJ is from Macclesfield however, as yet hasn’t stolen anything from me!!! I went to the pub on Wednesday and got really drunk! I drank far too much for a Wednesday night and was late for work the next day, oops! Felt proper rough as well and was cursing all wine makers and people who serve alcohol!!

On the Friday, we went to a Defected night (which is a record label) with a few people. It was really good music and a beautiful club called Tank but there was no atmosphere! The Saturday, Lyds and me fancied going to the beach but by the time we sorted ourselves out, it was 3pm! So we were going to go to Bondi and decided to get the train and the bus, but when we got to the station the train line was closed! Typical. So we then decided to go to Bronte beach and get the bus! However, on the way there Lyds told me that we still had to go through Bondi Junction so therefore
Our House With The Girls'Our House With The Girls'Our House With The Girls'

Their's is the one with the box balcony
would basically take the same amount of time to go to Bondi! So we got to Bondi Junction, and were pulling into the bus station and there was a bus on the left and a bus on the right of the road! I was sat on the aisle side and Lyds was sat on the window side, both on the right of the bus. Lyds was about to say, "the bus is getting a bit close" and the side of the bus where Lyds was sat rammed into the back corner of the bus in the station!! Everyone shouted and the bus driver stopped and then he reversed!! Not a good idea! The two windows shattered and everyone shouted again and jumped off the seats. Luckily, it was shatter proof glass and so no-one got hurt!

We ended up getting a bus to Bondi anyway and then we got wee'd on by a bird on the beach!!! The perfect end to a perfect journey. Actually, the perfect end was when we were in the bar afterwards and an Ozzy surf rowing team came in, all brown with big muscly arms, but then they got thrown out by the police for only wearing their tiny swimming shorts, hmmm!!!

On Sunday 12 February, I went round to Siobhan and Linc's new house and they cooked a really tasty BBQ of prawns, fish and chilli pasta. We then went to a Dj spin-off afterwards, which was part of the run-up to the Mardi Gras. The music was amazing but we were the only straight people in the whole bar and the lesbians were not appreciating our company. But the gays liked us and we had fun so was all-good in the end!!

That week was just working. The people at my work place are really nice but the job is a little repetitive. But i can listen to my MP3 whilst i'm doing some of the work so that kind of helps!!

On the 17th February which was a Friday, I went to Ozzy Rules with Siobhan which is the Australian version of rugby! However, the men are prettier and they wear little vests and smaller shorts, hurrah for the Australians!! We also went to Purple Sneaker which is a rock night held in a dingy little hotel but i love it! I really like the venue because its so grimy but this time we went the people were really odd. I was talking to this man who was about 40, and we were just discussing current events and politics. Then, everywhere we went in the club he suddenly turned up and then in the end called me rude because I didn't want to go out to lunch with him! Then, another boy who looked like he was a smack head, spat at Lauren (bad mistake as she's a manc) and another boy who was Australian said he's marry me because he wanted to live back in Leeds without a visa restriction. I almost took him up in the offer just to please my dad!!! It was a really good night though and we showed all the rock people how to dance properly by starting a small 'mosh' area to one of my favourite songs! Annoying people from the other side of the world, now that's the reason I came traveling!!! Non of this finding yourself bollocks!

On the Saturday I went to Coogee beach for some sunbathing which was lovely but a girl had to be taken by the ambulance, I think because she got stung or bitten by something but I couldn't hear properly as my head phones were on!! The Saturday we were meant to go out with Hannah as her friends were up but us three were a bit hungover but we went out to a bar and had a chat and they seemed really nice and told l us about good places to go in Melbourne! On the Sunday we got the ferry to Manly as I thought that there was a Brazilian festival on but it turned out that it was the weekend after! Oops!

We went to Greater Manly and the little one too and had a picnic on the beach, which was lovely and also laughed at the Australian life guard announcements on the beach! "We are going home in 30 minutes, there will be no-one here to save you!" Etc etc. Not sure why its funny but it is!!! They also try and direct people who are swimming or surfing in the wrong area to safety. But as we didn't know which direction was North or South we couldn't have a good stare and a giggle! (for anyone interested, I have since been told by Linc who explained very slowly that all beaches on the East coast are obviously East and so therefore you can work out which way is North and South from that. Of course, I already knew that but didn't want to appear a know-it-all in front of the others!! Yeah right!).

The Monday (2oth February) was another day at work. On the Tuesday, a new girl moved into my room and so I stayed at Shiv and Linc's lovely little house for the first time and we went out for a really tasty tea. As they are going on hols for a few days it was decided that I would also house sit! Hurrah a whole house to myself for a few days!!! Went for tapas with them on the Friday too but then didn't really do anything at the weekend. We were really tired on the Saturday and so didn't go out o09 Oh my good lord am sat at lauren's house writing this and the biggest fucking cockroach has just crawled up my leg!!! You should have heard me scream!!! Eughh i feel violated!!!!

Anyway, the Sunday (26th February) we went to the Powerhouse museum round the corner for the
A View Of The BackyardA View Of The BackyardA View Of The Backyard

I've tried to make it arty-farty to detract from how minging it is!
Kylie exhibition which was really good but the actual museum itself is amazing! Its got loads of really good sections and exhibitions like art and design all with Australian origins, well mainly anyway. The Kylie exhibition was a collection of photos from her career and also a collection of her costumes and stuff. She is absolutely tiny! You would not believe how short and petite she is (I know this because the mannequins are replicas of her body! There's one for the lads!!). The Sunday night we went to Tropfest, which is the Australian short film festival. We took a picnic and it would have been amazing apart from the fact that the heavens opened whilst we were there and we left half way through. The festival was actually called off towards the end as they got “washed out” (for those who are interested!! The finalist was actually disqualified after a member of the audience pointed out that the film bore a resemblance to another film that one an award in 2004. It turns out it was the same director, the same film but he had changed his surname and put on a fake Hungarian accent!! Good lad!).

The Monday I bought and made my mask for Mardi Gras. I spray painted it gold and stuck on some little angels wings in the corner. I broke a plastic coat hanger for a holding stick but that came of! The Tuesday we all (us and the boys) went out for a Chinese (three courses for $15.00 I had Mongolian lamb!!) and then I moved into Shiv and lincs. Didn't sleep a wink that night as got first night heeby jeebies!!!

At the weekend we tried to go out on the Friday but the rock night that we wanted to go to had changed venues. I looked at a map on the Yellow pages and it said that it was at the Circular Quay end of George Street, which is the opposite end to where we live! So we got a taxi down there but oops turned out it was actually at the other end where we live, or rather where the girls live! I might have got it wrong again, and that is the last time that I will attempt to organise anything without the supervision of others!!!

The Saturday (4th March) was Mardi Gras!! yey!!!!! Got ready
Eugh!! Eugh!! Eugh!!

Prob best not to ask!
and then went round to the girls house! Lyds had bought us some false eyelashes but mine wouldn't stick Gutted! Their's looked really good though!! I met up with a girl from work's friend Mike and he came to Mardi Gras with us. It turned out that Hannah’s new house is right on the parade path which is handy and so we went there to watch it! The people who used to live in our two houses also came so there was quite a few of us! They also (the organisers made the mistake of giving five exceptionally excited people free whistles, rattles and fans (sponsored by Gaydar, how appropriate!!) and the boys also managed to get some big fluffy WKD Viking hats from the bottle shop!!

I had drank my bottle of wine by about 8 (the parade started about then) so when it finished at 10 I was knackered! Was really good though there was :

Dykes on bikes
A policeman/woman float
A rights at work float
A Gaydar float
a big massive disco ball and lots lots more but I can't remember! We tried to go down oxford street aft wards but everywhere was busy
The Defected BallsThe Defected BallsThe Defected Balls

Bear with me, I like them!!
so ended up going home but was so tired didn't mind!!!

There were also a few ladies with their boobs out which pleased the boys no end! At one point, before the parade started, Mike came up to me looking very excited and waving his camera! He could barely speak but managed to show me the picture, which was of him and three girls, naked apart from blue bikini bottoms, covered in blue paint!!! At that point I saw the boy’s fluffy hats crossing the road so showed them the picture and you’ve never seen three people move so quickly! Within seconds they were lined up for photos with these girls and their eyes were all shiny and full of happiness! They all ended up with round blue boob marks where the girls had been touching them, which I think added to their immense pleasure!!!

The Sunday didn't do anything and Monday the girls came round to my house for a really tasty BBQ and we watched Desperate Housewives and stuffed ourselves, marvelous! The Tuesday we went out for a $5 dollar tea and I got steak and mashed potatoes. Then haven’t really done anything for the rest
Some More....Some More....Some More....

Aah pretty!
of the week. Tomorrow is my last day at this job so am going out for a few drinks after work so that should be good but then have to try and find a new job now which will be fun, not! But hopefully I’ll get a few days off and the weather will be good, as am getting really pale again!

Am having so much fun here and we really enjoy the company of the two boys Chris and Aj! We’re thinking of going to the Blue Mountains on Monday and then to Melbourne in a few weeks! I'll be sad to leave here but i think I'm ready to see new stuff too!!!

Anyway, take care and will speak to you all soon!!!

Love me

xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx



Additional photos below
Photos: 43, Displayed: 30


Advertisement

True Love?True Love?
True Love?

Look where my hand is?! Shocking!!
LaurenLauren
Lauren

Looking suitably remorseful at the evenings activities!
Shrimps On The BarbyShrimps On The Barby
Shrimps On The Barby

Siobhan's prawns
Men At WorkMen At Work
Men At Work

Linc's DIY spectacular!
Charlie's Angels Eat Your Heart Out!!Charlie's Angels Eat Your Heart Out!!
Charlie's Angels Eat Your Heart Out!!

Now can you see why the Lesbians couldn't keep away! (this was at that Dj spin-off thing!)
The PlayersThe Players
The Players

Sorry girls. Siobhan wouldn't let me get any closer than this for fear of embarrassing myself! But you may be able to use the zoom function on your computers for a closer look.....
Purple SneakerPurple Sneaker
Purple Sneaker

I told you there were some weird people in there!


10th March 2006

Well done Jules
Now you know the secret of journal writing - little and often - so you don't end up having to write a huge chunk all at once as you just have. Looking forward to seeing photos of Leyla when you get to Melbourne, maybe Rachel too if she's still there. As you no doubt know Rachel arrived yesterday but I'm not sure how long she'll be staying. Magoo is also due back shortly so Leyla's world will be complete. It's sunny here but not warm enough to swim yet - but soon will be. Keep up the good work with the blog. Love Pat

Tot: 0.087s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0512s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb