Easter Weekend


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
April 14th 2009
Published: April 14th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Happy Belated Easter!

Mid-semester break has begun and the past 5 days have FLOWN by, I can't believe it! Thursday was my last day of classes for 17 whole days! So I went home and started to put on my sweats for a night in front of the tv when my friend Winston from class called me and wanted to know if I wanted to go out for some drinks. Well, it was kind of cool outside so I knew I had to wear jeans but didn't have any cute ones... except one pair that I haven't been able to fit into since I got here. But, desperate times call for desperate measures... so I SOMEHOW got these jeans up and zipped, and spent the rest of the night sucking it in and realizing I needed to do 29034823094820 sit ups tomorrow, hahaha. So I met up with Winston at the Slip Inn, down by Darling Harbour, and I had been here before, but had no idea they had this huge, beautiful beer garden outside. So we had one drink there then decided to do a little pub crawl towards Oxford Street, since I had never been there before. So we made our way to Oxford Street, which is well known for its crazy amount of gay bars and its kind of the "gay district." We went to a bar called the Birdekin, where Winston's cousin worked, so I got to meet a bunch of Aussies, which was fun. Then we went to a bar called Stonewall, which was my true first experience of a gay bar. Studio 54 in Iowa City doesn't even compare to this. It was PACKED with guys, very few girls, and the hot (most likely gay) bartenders were shirtless. It was really fun and they played GREAT music, and I even got to meet 2 of Winston's gay friends, and they were the cutest couple EVER! After that we went to a few more bars, made a quick stop at McDonalds, then I was safe in my bed around 5am.

Friday and Saturday were very uneventful, I basically spent those 48 hours in front of the tv because I'm trying to soak up all the relaxation I can before school starts back up on the 27th because in the last 5 weeks of class I have three 15 page papers, 2 presentations, and 1 essay test! Saturday I did get outside and headed down to the markets in the Rocks so I could have some corn on the cob and a lemonade for lunch. So while walking around, I swear it was senior citizen day or something because every person over the age of 100 was there and walking so slow, so it took me 8 hours to get to the stupid corn stand... but of course, as I'm already annoyed because of the delay to get to the corn stand, I walk by this (large) woman and she turns and basically belches RIGHT IN MY FACE... I think I threw up in my mouth a little. It was disgusting, and I am happy to say she WAS NOT American, haha. Anyways, I finally got my amazing corn and lemonade and sat down by the water with a good view of the Opera House and the bridge. After that.... I went and got some ice cream and headed back to my cave for the day.

Sunday was Easter! I went to church at Hillsong again, and for their Easter service they held it at the Sydney Entertainment Center again, which was cool. The service was really good, as usual, and at the end they threw out hundreds of chocolate eggs into the audience 😊 Yum! Afterwards I stopped by the store and bought tons of yummy food to make myself an Easter feast, which ended up turning into one of the crappiest meals I've ever had, haha. After my meal fiasco, I got a bit lonely and missed having Easter lunch with ham, potatoes, etc. with the family! Ahh! But overall, it was a nice, relaxing day, so I can't complain.

Monday... nothing good to report on.

Today I have been running some errands, paying rent, mailing some birthday postcards, etc. and in a little bit my Aussie friend Rob is coming over and we are having a movie marathon for the rest of the day (watching the entire Bourne trilogy!). Then tomorrow starts my week in Melbourne!! I'm taking the cheap way down, 13 hour Greyhound bus ride (please pray that I sit next to someone decent! haha) and then will be staying at my friend Dave's house with his family... and they have a hot tub! Nice! I probably won't update while I'm gone, so you'll have to wait til the end of next week to hear about my trip!! Love you all! See you back in the States in 10 weeks!!

Advertisement



22nd April 2009

Melby Trip
Hello!! I am curious to know how your Melbourne trip was - is it a giant city as well? Sorry, I am not up-to-date on my Australian geographic knowledge! I hope someday I can see the Australia you have grown to love so much! :)

Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 8; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0456s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb