Autumn


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
April 7th 2009
Published: April 7th 2009
Edit Blog Post

So far, minus a few days of rain, Autumn weather in Sydney has been absolutely perfect!! Mostly sunny and around 70 degrees truly makes for a perfect day to walk around the city and be outside. It's also nice that the humidity has dropped so I don't look like a sweaty monster by the time I get to class or work, haha.

My weekend flew by, as usual. Friday night was my friend Kristian's (guy I met in Cairns in September... look back at my older entries) last night in Sydney, so I went to have a drink with him in Kings Cross and had a great time. I got to meet some German girls that he had been hanging out with during his time in Sydney, and they were so fun! It was a really fun night and it was great to see Kristian again, especially before he went back home to the Faeroe Islands (Danish islands up by Iceland). Then I met up with my friend Eric and made friends with some old guys at a bar while it poured down rain for awhile, then headed home. The rest of my weekend basically consisted of me writing my essay, which is now finished and ready to hand in!

I have 2 more days of class and then Friday starts 16 days of break!! I can't believe 7 weeks of school went by so fast... and that there are only 6 left!! And that I have to leave this amazing place in 10 weeks!! Time is really flying by.

My break plans consist of being as cheap as possible but getting in one last bit of traveling. I bought a 60 dollar Greyhound ticket and am taking a fun little 13 hour bus ride to Melbourne on the 15th and will be staying with my Aussie friend Dave for a week (and will luckily be taking a quick flight back to Sydney). Melbourne is supposed to be ideal for shopping, so with my very small budget, I guess I'll have to choose between food or clothes/shoes/bags/etc. Haha. Then I head back to classes on the 27th and will have 6 very busy weeks of uni, then exams, then a long, sad flight back to the good 'ol US of A. I do have to admit that in my spare time, I make lists of all the restaurants and the exact things I want to eat and drink when I return. And I'm very anxious to head to Gurnee Mills and buy tons of really cheap, cute jeans and shirts and shoes 😊

Tonight as I was putting the finishing touches on my essay, the news was on in the background and I heard something about the Opera House, so I listened and apparently the Star Trek premiere was there tonight... red carpets and anything! HOW DID I NOT KNOW THIS!? Not that I really care about Star Trek, but it's more because of the fact that HOT, SEXY Aussie actor Eric Bana is there right now, one LITTLE block away from me, and I didn't get to see him. I thought about going out and waiting now to see when he comes out, but then I figured that might seem a bit stalker-ish and decided to watch a movie instead. Oh well.

This Friday I am going out to dinner with my Aussie friend Norman because he's getting ready to head off to India (SO JEALOUS) for 3 months (traveling and volunteering) so this will be the last time I probably will ever get to see him!! We're going to my favorite restaurant in Sydney, Firefly, the most amazing tapas bar ever... and I am preparing myself to eat mass amounts of amazing food. Mom has been there and knows what I'm talking about. SO GOOD.

Work is good. School is good. Weather is good. Life is great.

Advertisement



8th April 2009

yummy
ahhhhhhhhh wish I could join you enjoy!

Tot: 0.143s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0897s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb