Happy New Year!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Opera House
January 1st 2006
Published: January 1st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Well I've finally gone and done it - I've got myself a tan! Ok it's not what most people would call a tan but I'm a lobster colour all over and I think it suits me! Pete and Aimie took me up to the Northern beaches on the 30th in their VW camper van - I want one!! In particular Palm Beach, which for you soap buffs, is Summer Bay from the series Home and Away. Now this place is more like paradise to me. I got my photo taken outside the surf club just so I can say I've been. I'm not into the Aussie soaps there not as good as Corrie and Emmerdale.

In the evening we meet up with a Friend of Pete's who he met when he worked in Ibiza and head down darling harbor for a few social one's. We get turfed out of the bar at two, Pete and Aimie have gone home but I continue on with his mate there is now a group of seven and we end up in Kings Cross where they have 24hr bars and also happens to be the seedier part of the city. We have a few in a sports bar and I decide to call it a night at about 4.30am I'm getting too old :-)

It's New Years Eve and I meet up with Pete and Aimie about four and head to the Quay for pre New Year drinks. We can't get into our reserved area for New Year until 7.00pm. When we do get in we have got the most amazing view. The Opera House is just to my right and the Harbor Bridge in front. Not only that as part of the deal we all get our own hamper (ok it was a cardboard box). It's filled with goodies such as Smoked Rainbow Trout Pate and Moroccan Chicken. It's all very tasty! At 9.00pm they have Fireworks for the kids, the City of Sydney have the whole New Year thing down to a tee! As the clock ticks down the anticipation grows and I'm not let down. I've seen this on TV but to be here and see it is truly an amazing experience - one that I will never forget! Thank you Pete and Aimie.

I was hoping to update the Photo's for you but I've had a problem with the Card reader and I may have lost all my photos - All 600 of them! I'll have to check it out when I get back to my Hostel.

Next Blog - Christchurch NZ


Advertisement



Tot: 0.331s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 11; qc: 48; dbt: 0.0612s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb