Alpine Safari


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Christchurch
January 3rd 2006
Published: January 5th 2006
Edit Blog Post

Hello all,

Well yes after a fine new year, I'm back to annoy you. I'm now travelling on my own again after Aus and I'm ready to party!

Well what can I say about this place, I've been in NZ 2 days and I'm already in love with the place. I've always had a thing about the place and everything I've seen so far tells me I was right!

I arrived in Christchurch on the 2nd after a really hot day on the 1st in Sydney. The temp got up to 45 degree's in Sydney and the breeze which normally had a cooling effect felt like it was burning my nose hair. Christchurch was a whole nother matter on arrival it was mid to late twenty's - just my kind of weather. Christchurch remindeds me how England might have been 30 years ago. I drop my bag off and go a wondering.

My now legendry map reading skills have got me to some places I wanted to go and a lot that I didin't. But after having a wonder round Christchurch (seen the big Catherdrale - can't miss it as it's outside me hostel) I found my self in the Holy Grail ( thats the bar's name) sports bar. This place really is the holy grail of sports bars ( the biggest in NZ by all accounts). This place has a TV screen 3 times as big as the one in Walkabout Blackpool. I have to make do with the Aussie Cricket as I sample a few local ones but it's not that bad as their not playing too well :-) After the cricket I head to the Hostel Bar. They have a killer pool tournament with a difference on so it's only right I enter and out of twenty odd people I manage 3rd. I think I'd have done better but after spinning round on the spot several times my aim is not as good as it should have been! All is not lost as England take a 1 2 3 in the comp not bad as there is only 3 English People playing.

The next day I head out for my Alpine Safari. I'm picked up by coach and taken to Waimakariri River (Maori for something like Cold Fast River) for a ride in a Jet Boat. This thing is Cool as we shoot up the river the views are amazing. The river flooded the night before which makes the ride a bit more bouncy but that just adds to the fun.

Afte where finished with the Jet boat we're picked up by the 'Unimog' this is a 4WD truck used to get up into hills where normal cars don't go. Where taken up to a sheep station and the guide tells us all about life on the farm. At the top of some hill we get out for pictures again the view is just truly amazing it seems in New Zealand that every where you look you have a view that should be on a Postcard. I resist the urge to start singing from the 'Sound of Music'

After the trip round the farm and some lunch where taken up to Arthur's Pass for our scenic ride back to Christchurh. The Alpine train connects the West Coast to the East and is considered to be one of the top 10 train journey's in he world. It's started to Rain and I don't just mean a little so the view is not as clear as it could have been but still amazing!

After the tour I head back to the hostel for a quiet night as I've got to be up early for my coach ride to Queenstown. Well that was the plan but like always it didn't happen. I meet up with a few people and we head out to another hostel for a few social one's. As the night goes on I met a few New Zealanders from the North Island and end up drinking with them till gone one in the morning. Well not to worry as it still left me with 5 hours kip, just wish I'd packed me bag before I went out!

Next Blog - Queenstown and the Bungi

Advertisement



Tot: 0.253s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 10; qc: 46; dbt: 0.0375s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb