Bungeeeeeeeeee!


Advertisement
New Zealand's flag
Oceania » New Zealand » South Island » Otago » Queenstown
January 6th 2006
Published: January 7th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It's a 7 hour coach trip from Christchurch to Queenstown, but the journey is just a sea of panoramic views and the time soon fly's by. Queenstown is known as the adventure capitol of New Zealand and when you arrive in town it's easy to see why. The town centre is a wash with things to do 'throw yourself of this' or 'dive into this'. Even the mini golf is described as the ultimate extreme mini golf ever!

I find my hostel and hook up with a couple of lads I'd meet on the bus. We head out for a drink and to find our bearings. After several beers it's turning into a bit of session I think we've covered half the bars in town and it's only about 8.00. One of the lads is Dutch and speaks several languages which helps we try and chat up three Swiss girls. It's going well until it gets down to a bit of one on one conversation and I'm lost and I think the beer might have taken over :-)

The next day is one I've been looking forward to, my Sister has arranged for me to do a Bungee jump well actually it's 3 jumps in one day. The first jump is off the Kawarau Bridge, its 43 meter’s high. The anticipation is building as I wait my turn, the jump master asked if I would like to touch the water, I agree but he then worry's me with the comment that he should change the cord for me but I should be ok - not want you to hear! It's my turn and nerves have set in. 'What the hell I'm I doing' It's complete and utter madness to throw yourself off a bridge with a bit of elastic tied to your ankles. The countdown begins 3.... 2..... 1.... in a split second so much goes through your head 'I can't do it' 'You have to do it, you'll look a tit in front of these people' and that clinch's it pride takes over and I take the leap of faith or stupidity which ever way you look at. What a feeling as you soar through the air then fall like a dead weight. The river approaches fast and I end up getting dunked up to my waist. What a rush.

The next jump is from the Nevis High Wire now this thing is a pod held a cross two hills by some cable 134metres in the air. The pod has a glass bottom which adds to the fear factor. It's very intimidating, to make matters worse they throw the jumpers off by weight - which means me first. My time has come, this thing is daunting and the thoughts go through my head again. 3... 2... 1.... Stupidity takes over and I go for it. It takes approx 8 seconds before the bungee kicks in and starts pulling you up. In that time the rock your hurtling towards gets closer and closer and the thought goes through your head ' I hope this rope is short enough' The first jump was amazing but this one was better. The adrenaline has kicked in and I'm on a high.

The final jump is more for a bit of fun, don't get me wrong the jump is still daunting it’s a ledge on the side of the mountain and the jump is said to be 47 meters. You’re tied around your waste which means you can run and jump off if you want. I'm still on a high so I opt to run. 3.... 2..... 1...... No fear this time! I run and get some good air. Another good rush but the best jump of the day has to be the second one.

During the day I've met up with another traveler and we arrange to meet for a drink later. I've managed to kill off the other two lads and they decide to have an early night. I think we manage to cover the rest of the bars I've not been too and a good night is had by all. I've booked to go river boarding tomorrow with a company called Mad Dogs; Sensibly I've gone for the afternoon session to avoid doing it with a Hangover!

Well we get picked up by the Mad Dog bus, this tour is run by 3 crazy brits and I sense where in for a good time. River Boarding involves taking a body board and throwing yourself down a river with class 2 and 3 rapids. Not to bad but I'm not the best swimmer in the world :-) The river is freezing but after a bit of instruction where off. It's a different rush to the Bungee but still a good one. Trying to stay on the board during the rapids is hard work and I go under a couple of times but nothing more than a couple of seconds. One of the group got hit by a rapid and then sucked into a whirlpool and went under for about 10 seconds. Comforting that the guides just laughed at him.

Well from the posse that when rafting I've conned a few into coming out that night. Well I now think I have covered every bar in Queenstown and we find another Minus 5 bar similar to the one in Sydney so we head into it. It's about a third of the size of the one in Sydney but it's a bit cheaper and more relaxed. After a few more bars I call it a night as I'm flying to Auckland tomorrow.

Queenstown is not only the Adventure capitol of NZ but also the Party Capitol I've had a great couple of days. But this place is not all about Partying. The area around Queenstown was used as a backdrop for the Lord of the Rings films. If anyone is considering visiting NZ I suggest you make this place a must!

Next Blog: Auckland


Advertisement



7th January 2006

Bungeee!
So glad you survived to tell the tale, Mum wouldn't have forgiven me if you hadn't. Is there anything you haven't done yet?! You Quazy Fool!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!(Love Antxx)
9th January 2006

It may amuse you to know that some fool bought me a personalised Bolton mug for xmas! You are truly insane, but I'm glad you are enjoying hurling yourself off various things! Take care xxx
10th January 2006

Damn!! That's so neat! I went to Queenstown a year ago (Buuu, hurts to say so), and wanted to do the same thing you did, but because of some inconviniences I ended up doing the Parabungy, which was really awesome ;) Enjoy your time there!! Lu

Tot: 0.215s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 7; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0424s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb