The only way to see Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Blue Mountains
December 29th 2005
Published: December 29th 2005
Edit Blog Post

Hey All,

Well on Wednesday we decided to head up to the Surfers Paradise that is Bondi Beach. It's not so far from Sydney city centre and takes about 40mins to get there. It's not what I expected. Paradise is termed as an ideal or idyllic place or state. Well to me this was no paradise it looked like a British seaside resort but with sun. To be fair though I'm not a surfer so to me the place is not Ideal, however, I would spend time here if I was travelling in Aus for a longer period and at least I can say I have been plus I've bought my self some shorts which will go well on our next Hawaiian Night back home.

Following the trip to the beach I head to the harbor bridge for something I've been looking to do since I started this trip; The Bridge Climb. I'm booked in for the Twilight Climb, which means we go up in daylight and come down in the dark. After chating with a Bolton fan (we get everywhere) in reception it's time to suit up in this lovely fetching grey jump suit. You could be Brad Pitt and still not look good in one of these things.

After a short training session on how to use the equipment where off. You start under the road until you reach a pylon and then head up to the arc. As soon as you’re on the Arc the view you can see is truly amazing! As we walk up our guide gives commentary of the surrounding area and the sun begins to set. By the time we are close to the top the sun has almost set and the view is now spectacular. If you’re ever going to visit Sydney you must do the Bridge Climb. As we start to come down darkness falls giving another wonderful view of Sydney at night. This has to be one of the best things I've done so far. Unfortunately you'll have to wait to see the photo's till I come back as your not allowed to take digi cams up there.

The next day the three of us have opted to take a tour up to the Blue Mountains. Named because of the Blue Haze the eucalyptus trees give off in the hot weather. On the way though we stop for some Tea and Cake and to try our hand at Boomerang throwing. Despite my ball throwing skills being likened to a girl's. I surprise myself and manage to throw it quite well. We then head on to a wildlife park where I have my picture taken with a Koala and Kangaroo. I hope Skippy doesn't realize I ate his cousin the other night.

Before lunch we stop for a short bush walk to take in some views of the Blue Mountains. Its one thing you can say about this country is that it will never be short of a view or two. The view into the Valley is again something special. After Lunch we head to park where they have the steepest cable car in Australia and the Steepest Rail Track in the World. They take you into a rain forest but most of the animals are gone because of all the tourists. I mean this place is that busy it's like a Boxing Day sale at Next! It's worth the trip for the two rides.

On our way back we stop in a small town for a drink and a bit of a mooch (I've noticed I've turned into a bit of a moocher while I've been away). We get taken into the Olympic village to see all the stadiums before heading back by Boat to Sydney.

To top the day off we head into a Bar called minus 5. Basically this place does exactly what it says on the tin. It's a bar at minus 5; you’re only allowed to stay in for 30mins. It's enough to give us a reminder of what where missing at home and then we head back outside to where the sun is now about 30 degrees - I like Sydney I do.

Next Blog - New Year


Advertisement



30th December 2005

Watch out!
Hey Bobble, watch out for the Mathieson clan in Sydney as they are all in town for New Years Eve!! Glad you are having a good one xxx

Tot: 0.256s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 10; qc: 45; dbt: 0.0615s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb