Spoilt in Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Kings Cross
May 22nd 2008
Published: June 2nd 2008
Edit Blog Post

Deja Vu, well kinda but not quite. Last time I was in Sydney, we had just finished doing the East coast and boy were we poor, we had to get jobs sharpish, no longer could we go out, eat out or eat for that matter if it wasnt the old backpacker favorite noodles. This time its all different, is it because this time i have learnt to be more responsible with money? Hell no. the real reason is that my mum and dad was here and to be honest they spoilt me rotton. Dinners, lunches, taxis and tours - what more could a girl ask for.
So i was in Sydney for a week with my folks there for the first 5 days so i did all the things i loved in Sydney. Went to the Rocks market trying all the weird and wonderful foods, chilled out listening to the band while eating the necessary corn on the cob and basically just enjoying the atmosphere. I love the Rocks, it is the oldest part of Sydney and at the weekend its the place to go, you can easily waste hours just people watching and seeing all the beautiful trinkets on sale. Also headed to the botanical gardens, my all time favorite place in Sydney but was heartbroken when I couldn't find my old friend the over hugged tree, I used to know the way to the tree without even thinking but try as i might i wasn't able to find it but alas i found a new one and chilled out under that one watching the world past me by. This time I also went to the Blue mountains, I did this last time but we happened to have an insane bus driver who kept leaving people behind so we weren't able to savour the environment, this time was different however as we took the train so we were able to see things in at our own pace and it was so much better and it is truly beautiful there.
If that wasn't enough my mum even paid for me to get my haircut and boy was it needed, i was turning into It from the Adams family. I had a great time with the parents and it was nice not to be a backpacker for a few days, when travelling solo, you are unable to have a bad day as you need to make friends so the usual conversations have to happen which is great and i love it but it does get tiring so for five days i didn't have to ask anyone, where they came from, how long they were staying, where they are going and where is home so I'm now revitalized again and back to friendly backpacker Claire, it was a good break.
Once the folks left i just chilled around doing the necessary internet, laundry, bank stuff etc and i stumbled across the world press photo 08 exhibition in the New South Wales library, for those that know me I'm a photo nerd, i could look at them all day, it is a great exhibition with so many powerful photos demonstrating our world today, it is a travelling exhibition that is currently doing its world tour and if it is anywhere near you i recommend going to it, it is fabulous.
Sydney is a great city but people must remember that it is a new city, saying that it does have a interesting history but you have to search it out rather than in Europe where it is all around you. It has got a lot more expensive than when i was here only 3 years ago but it is still worth a visit and it was my perfect chilling out time before heading on my Asian adventure




Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

The IbisThe Ibis
The Ibis

these are scary scary birds that attack you randomly well not everybody but they attack me on a regular basis


Tot: 0.043s; Tpl: 0.012s; cc: 8; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0223s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb