Sydney


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Sydney » Bondi Beach
February 12th 2007
Published: February 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Feb 8. Ferry to Manly to pick up copy of 'Mosman Daily' article. Called Tarrin at 'Liverpool Leader'. Got article yesterday page six. He'll send a copy to me. Got a call from Victoria in Perth. Long discussion to explain what I wanted for 'in the news' on website. She said $350 to do it so I said do $180 worth. Stroll around Darling Harbour. Bloke said he'd read about flag in Strathfield (Inner West Weekly). I'll have to call tomorrow to confirm.
Feb 9. Ferry to Balmain to get 'Inner West' article. Good spruik. Had to go to Drummoyne to get into distribution area. Got article. It was that funny photo of a sticker in front of my face so one eye was covered, sticker blurred. Cumberland newspapers readership of the five I have gotten is 450,000!!!!! Long walk in Darling Street Balmain. Called 'Village Voice' local paper. They should call next week.
Feb 10. Double Bay and Bronte. Swim. And so another day unfolded, emerged from the themes. If a man can attain a perfection like Patrick O'Brian, so why not others? Inspiration. I can print colour posters announcing a meeting @ twenty cents each!! 'Get Up' website would be a good way to get support for Bridge Crossing on 18th. Do chant. Then I walked with the people. Wide eyed wonder. A little girl on a swing chanted 'I like the flag'. I talked with skiff racers, one from Mt Lawley (Perth). Kookaburra called. Awe. Bloke from Adelaide off booze cruise stuck sticker on chest, gave me a beer. Another racer had me stick sticker on skiff trailer.
Feb 11.Punched in the park by a big bloke, obviously a 'sandwich short of a picnic'. Huge fist. The blow was weak but. I retreated. In a way so did he. The next minute a group on a high porch was waving me over. They wanted stickers. Had seen them on Gold Coast. Sailed with John Fraser and a lovely group of young people. Middle Harbour, Watsons Bay, CYCA for more beer. We flew the burgee off the backstay. Went to cricket at SCG. Talked my way in. Waved flag in frot of fifty thousand. Rain.







Advertisement



Tot: 0.2s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 9; qc: 48; dbt: 0.1441s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb