Kangaroos & Cold


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Newcastle
September 3rd 2014
Published: September 11th 2014
Edit Blog Post

Catching Sun's First RaysCatching Sun's First RaysCatching Sun's First Rays

Sunrise in Newcastle
September 3rd – The weather forecast was not promising, but David wanted some photos of the coast, so we rose at 4:45 a.m., and off to Newcastle we went. And – the forecast was right – rain, high winds, and terrific waves! David was in his element! Judy and I stayed dry in the car while Mal valiantly kept David company, even losing a hat in the process.



After breakfast, the weather improved enough for us to visit the Shortland Wetlands Centre. Here we were introduced to more of the region’s flora and fauna including a poisonous Red-Bellied Black Snake that was warming itself beside the path.



Our next stop was the Tomaree Lookout -- unfortunately, the weather had begun to deteriorate and the winds were very strong, so we had only a quick look and drove back down. As we neared Mal and Judy’s home, the weather improved again, and we went in search of kangaroos. We eventually spotted a few bucks with a large number of females with joeys in their pouches grazing on the grass.



I have to talk about the weather – it’s cold! Seriously, I’ve been wearing my long underwear, wool socks, sweaters and coats! I even bought a light coat! All my life, I’ve heard how HOT Australia is, and when I get here . . ., it’s like home!! Today though, this changes – we’re on our way to Darwin. I’ll probably be talking about the weather again very soon.



More photos below


Additional photos below
Photos: 6, Displayed: 6


Advertisement



12th September 2014

Travel Blog
I'm so happy you have included me in your travel adventures in both pictures and text. That is some baby in the pouch!
12th September 2014

Great to have you along, Al!
David & I are happy you are here with us 'in spirit'! (David will drink a few of those spirit, too.)
14th September 2014
Kangaroo with Joey

The Best
5 Stars! I would nominate this photo for photo of the week but you have already won once. Fantastic. Love it.
14th September 2014
Kangaroo with Joey

More photos to come!
Thanks guys -- I love this one too. There's plenty more photos coming. I can't keep up with the writing and posting -- wish there were two of me! (okay, maybe Four of Us as there is already Two of Us -- very bad pun!)
14th September 2014
Yes, we really are that cute!

Cute, cute, cute
Absolutely great photo

Tot: 0.075s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 17; qc: 27; dbt: 0.0373s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb