Raining again!


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
May 20th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Lots of clouds are out.
A little bit chilly here
Nice to people watch.

I would have to say that one of my favourite free activities is people watching. Especially while sitting on the fine sands of Byron Bay. It really amazes me that the sand actually squeaks when you walk over it. I've been taking it pretty easy here today in Byron Bay. Just sitting on the beach reading and doing some people watching. Now that is always a fun activity. Here are some things I've witnessed...

* Lots of surfer's wiping out
* Girl with a white bikini...not a pretty sight when wet and the owner of said bikini is shall we say very well endowed in many areas!
* Lots of cellulite. Just because they sell bikini's doesn't mean you have to own one. haha
* Seagulls with shifty eyes and scary beaks.
* Hackie sack is popular. I have seen three groups of people playing today.
* Lots of people turning red.
* Loud girls trying to attract boys...unsuccessfully I might add...guess the loud/obnoxious type is not what they're looking for.
* Boogie boarders being thrashed about and then going in for one more bash.
* A guy trying for the last 5 minutes to get all the sand off of his towel...um, we're on the beach. There is sand everywhere.
* a girl trying to change out of her bikini under the cover of her sarong without being seen but is having a tough time because of the winds. Word of advice, walk the 200m to the toilets!
* Three flying disks get swallowed by the sea.

I was going to walk to the Lighthouse this afternoon but by the time I remembered it was past 3PM and sunset is at about 4:30/5PM and I didn't want to walk back when it was dark out. Plus the clouds over that way were a bit grayish. That's okay though because I have all day tomorrow to check out that part of Byron Bay. I’ve gotta spread out the fun a bit. LOL Let’s just hope it is a nice day tomorrow!

Being Friday night, some of the girls in my room plus people from the bus that are still here would like to go out. I'm game as long as it's not the Cheeky Monkey again. Been there, done that! I think some of the others were going to check things out last night but I haven't seen any of them to ask.

Not sure what happened weather-wise from about 5PM onwards as it has been pissing down with rain. On the news they even had a freak snowstorm in "sunny" Queensland! Hopefully it'll all pass by tomorrow so that I can take a nice walk to the lighthouse and look out point.

It was a pretty quiet evening for me. Nicola and I were thinking of getting some fish and chips for dinner but I wasn't willing to pay $19.90 for fish and chips! Now that’s highway robbery. I was astounded by the price of Vietnamese noodles as well...$14.90...that's about 3 times more than what they go for back home. Crazy. So instead we settled for overpriced Indian. At least the butter chicken and naan and rice were awesome. In fact I think I ate a little too much. But that's okay because I was just getting my monies worth. lol. It was pretty cold and wet and windy out so we headed to the Balcony Bar for a nice warm drink. The mocha wasn't hot enough to warm me up but it was worth a try.

We eventually headed back to the hostel to check out the TV room and see what was on the tube. Wow it was super busy in there. Everyone glued to the screen watching American Idol. There were three contestants left. Nicola and I got a good kick outta the male contestant, Bo. We thought he was terrible and man you need to get some defrizzer for your long hair (especially if you're not gonna cut it) and gonna have the light shining from behind you...it only emphasizes and “enhances” the frizzies. lol In the end the black female contestant was robbed. I think her name was Vondrelle (or something along those lines.) She was clearly the best but somehow ended up with the least number of votes. Obviously the voting public doesn't know a good thing when they see and hear it. Or perhaps all of her fans are just cheapskates and didn't want to shell out the 50 cents a call. She was very gracious singing her last song alongside those other two contestants. It just highlighted the other two not being that "stunning" or above average I guess you could say. Well, I'll give them this...they can sing better than me BUT that isn't really saying much because I'm tone deaf. lol

Watching TV made for some good conversation back in my room. We all watched a bit of the news too. I can't believe that Kylie Monogue's breast cancer surgery was the top story of the day. Yes, it is something serious and has probably increased breast cancer awareness BUT to be the lead story?? Guess there's nothing else happening round the World today.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.052s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 7; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0356s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1023.3kb