Beach bum


Advertisement
Australia's flag
Oceania » Australia » New South Wales » Byron Bay
May 19th 2005
Published: January 21st 2006
Edit Blog Post

Sitting on the beach
On the sands of Byron Bay
Watching the surfer's.

What a sleep in. I got back to the hostel with Nicola at about 2AM. Two of my roommates were still out and boy did they make an entrance! Talk about noisy!

The first girl came back to the room at about 3AM and was fiddling with the door for the longest time. First I think she was having trouble fitting the key into the door and then I think she couldn't figure out how to lock the door (it automatically locks!)

Then at about 4AM the second girl comes back and has a guy with her. They climb into the top bunk of one of the beds. Oh gawd! Don't tell me they're about to get it on! Luckily they didn't because these metal bunks are pretty squeaky. My bed is by the window so it doesn't have an upper bunk. I eventually get to sleep when at 9AM I am woken up by one girl complaining about the bathrooms being closed for cleaning. Mind you it is a dumb time to be cleaning the bathrooms since there were a lot of people left waiting to use them. I decided to get a few more winks and wait for the bathroom frenzy to die down and before I knew it, I woke up around 11AM! It was great though because I think I needed the sleep and I still had an hour to be ready (major undertaking too shave the legs! lol) and meet up with Nicola for lunch and then head to the beach for a bit.

Lunch was great. We had Japanese and I was able to satisfy my sushi cravings! It was a bit on the expensive side but really yummy. The place we went to had the sushi going around on a train and the servings were pretty small. I guess being used to all-u-can eat places for sushi I can really put it back so I was telling Nicola, "I think I can eat the whole train load of sushi!" It really wasn't that much. lol BUT if I had done that, it would have meant blowing my budget at least 50 times. haha

We spent the better part of the afternoon sitting on the beach reading, writing and people watching. We also sat and hung out with various bus folks and talked about the previous nights shenanigans at the Cheeky Monkey. Nicola and I think John doesn't remember having that conversation with us on the street last night. Just goes to show you how out of it he was. We also discussed future travel plans and who would be taking what bus and when out of Byron Bay. It was really nice to just sit there on the beach listening to the waves as well. It also made me take notice of how pasty white my legs really are. I guess being covered up while in SEA and India they haven't seen the light of day in quite a while...must put more sun block on as a preventative measure. Don't want lobster legs! lol


Advertisement



Tot: 0.167s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 9; qc: 49; dbt: 0.1112s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb