Rihla #12 (Shoe Gazing)


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
December 13th 2011
Published: December 13th 2011
Edit Blog Post

What exactly is shoe gazing?

Shoe gazing is photographing of the feet. For example, imagine that you are visiting the city of Chicago and go to The Willis Tower. When you stand on the glass window ledge that allows you to look down at the hundreds of feet above ground form which you stand, you decide to take a picture. If you take a picture of your feet on the ledge during this event, you are participating in what is called shoe gazing.



2. Have you ever participated in shoe gazing? Explain. (Feel free to add your own photo!!!)

I have participated in shoegazing only one time. It so happens that it was the first time that I visited The Willis Tower. Because I was so excited, I decided to take a picture of my feet and of the people that were with me to capture the extreme height of the Tower.

At the time, I was not aware that I was doing what is called shoe gazing. I did not know the practice existed. It was simply an action that I had no idea was a big deal to certain people.


3. Many people participate in shoe gazing because they are comfortable in their own shoes. They see their own beauty that way. When we think about current American culture, do you believe there are certain attributes that are considered to be "the beautiful norm?" Who establishes this norm of what "beauty" is?

When thinking about any culture, there are certain practices that are considered beautiful by people who practice a specific culture. Looking into our own culture and trying to see what attributes are labeled as "the beautiful norm" but actually are not beautiful is not always easy. This is partly because we may not want to admit that certain things that we do are not beautiful because we have practiced them for so long. For example, in American Culture if a woman is blonde and thin, she is considered to be a beautiful woman. Also, for someone to beconsidered beautiful, he or she must have the perfect skin. It seems as though women are often targeted in being labeled as beautiful or ugly. Aside from what is already mentioned, a woman usually goes to extrememes to try and fit under this category of "beautiful". She may undergo plastic surgery, injections, intense training, and even wear things that are uncomfortable to make herself look pretty. It is sad to say that it is society itself that establishes what the norm of beauty is. It is the people who practice a certain culture that abides to the norms.



4. What do you personally find to be beautiful in yourself or others? Explain

To me, intelligence is beautiful However, the person must not be boastful about it. A person does not need to be a genius: he or she just needs to show that he or she can be responsible for his or her actions. I also find beauty in confidence and how people carry themselves. Seeing that a person is certain in his or her actions is something beautiful because confidence demonstrates peace with oneself.

To be honest, I find it hard to speak about good qualities of myself. I rarely do it and do not feel comfortable in doing so. This is because I feel like I am being boastful and do not like to speak of myself often.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.283s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0679s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb