Rihla # 13


Advertisement
North America
December 20th 2011
Published: December 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Read through CNN's Top Ten Heros of 2011 and answer the following questions:
1. Which one do you consider the be most HEROIC? Explain.

I have never been the one to like deciding whether one thing is better than another. For this week's Rihla, we needed to read about top ten heroes of 2011. As I read the questions before looking into the profiles of each hero, I knew answering these questions would be difficult. To be honest, there is no person who is more heroic than another. To explain my reasoning I would like to state what Mahatma Ghandi once said: "Whatever you do will be insignificant, but it is very important that you do it.” Although I heard this quote in a movie, I find that it is very true. Although I may think a person's action is insignificant, everything always has meaning. We do not know how our behavior will impact the future. The good deeds that the CNN named the Top Heros of 2011 may be insignificant to me (I am not undermining the heroic deeds of these people) becase I have not been personally influenced by these people. With that said, I am not able to declare who is most heroic. All of the things that these heroes are doing is amazing and cannot be ranked.




2. If you had the chance, who would you nominate to be your hero of 2011? (This person can be someone you know personally or a public figure that you consider to be a hero)

If I had the chance to nominate a hero for 2011, my father would be my nomnation. Nominating a parent may seem overused, but it is what I truly believe. My father means the world to me. I have no words to explain how important his impact on me has been. Until you get to know him for who he is, get to know what his life has been since he was a child, and get to know how HARD he has fought against himself to provide for his family, and until you have had deep conversations with him, you will understand the prospective from which I nominate my dad.
3. Do we study "heroes' in history? Who decides who or what is heroic?

We have studied "heroes" in history. Some are Mahatma Ghandi, Martin Luther King, and Abraham Lincoln. Personally I think a person is labeled as a hero for many reasons. One person cannot decide who is a hero and who is not. The view of a person will affect who is seen as a hero and who is not.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.184s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 10; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0445s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb