RIHLA #2


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 19th 2011
Published: September 20th 2011
Edit Blog Post

1. How does this article relate to what we are learning in class?
- Some reasons why the article Why Do Women Still Earn Less Than Men relates to what we were learing in class is because in class when we learned about the roles men and women were playing. The roles men and women were taking were completely different. Such as when in the neolithic stone age men would be doing all the farm work, while women were staying at home taking care of the children or keeping the house kept nice. In a way this relates to now because men are doing more or the 'hard work' jobs while women are taking the less paying jobs and also women are more unemployed because they are at home taking care of the children.

2. What did I learn from this article?
- Some new things I learned from this article was that women are more likey to go for less paying jobs such as nursing or teaching. Where men gravitate toward jobs such as scientists, doctors, lawyers, or more jobs that specifically pay more. Also I learned that Obama has signed a bill for men and women to become equal. He did this because men and women that had the same careers men would be getting paid more than women. Not only just women in general, but women that were different races were getting paid different amounts, so the bill is in the process of eliminating segregation in the career.

3. What about the article caused me to a) have a personal experience b) ask a question? Please refer to direct quotes from the article that struck you as being important or interesting as you answer this question.
- As I read the quote "Real or perceived, discrimination in certain sectors could discourage women from seeking employment there." This showed me that women would not even consider trying to enroll themselves into a higher income job because of the risk of having discrimination. This makes me think about generations to come because if women now are not enrolling in higher paying jobs what makes you think future women generations will want to enroll in that career. I think this because if young women don't see women enrolled in higher paying careers they might think it actually is just a man's jobs, and not even bother to try to suceed. This article relates to me in a way because I applied for a job at Auto-Zone, as I was taking to the manager about my application he said well we need someone who knows about cars. The manager automatically assumed that since I was a girl I would know nothing about cars. It irritated me because I got restricted a job because I was automatically put to the side because the manager thought I could learn nothing about cars.

Advertisement



Tot: 0.156s; Tpl: 0.009s; cc: 6; qc: 44; dbt: 0.0532s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb