Departure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States
September 20th 2010
Published: November 30th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The beginningThe beginningThe beginning

8:30pm, Monday, Sept 20, 2010 - Jill and Skeffy hit the road
After many days saying "I'm really heading out today" - I finally hit the road at 8:30pm, Monday September 20th. Didn't get too far that night. Not used to me car being quite so tall, and feeling a little unstable on the road, I drove SLOWLY. Yes, even slowly for me! By the time I got to Rhode Island it seemed a good idea to stop for coffee...where better than Foxwoods - since I was in the neighborhood. The valet was kind enough to let me pull up in front - with my Clampett-esque vehicle and Mr. Skeffington in the front seat.

A few hours later we were off again. Took a nap in Danbury, Ct, then continued on. Made few wrong turns in New Jersey, dealt with traffic and fast moving vehicles, looked forward to more open road, and by the time I had to sleep Tuesday night, we were in Front Royal, Virginia - just a few miles from the entrance to Skyline Drive and the entrance to the Shenandoah National Forest. Surely I could still make it to Linda's (in Dalton, GA) by the next evening (Wednesday, Sept 22).

Felt pleased to be up and out
Morning No. 2Morning No. 2Morning No. 2

Leaving motel in Front Royal
and entering the Park by 8:30am. SO beautiful! Stopped at several overlooks, took some photos, but tried to keep moving. It would take 3 hours to do the whole Skyline Dr - then there'd still be MANY miles before Dalton.

When I saw the entrance gate after a bit, I was really surprised. Surely I couldn't have been driving 3 hours already. Indeed, it had only been two hours. Hmm....
Yes, you guessed it, I was back where I'd started from. OOOPS #1

I suppose sometimes I just need to do things more than once! : )

I did make it to Linda's that night. Fourteen hours on the road. Not my ideal way to go, but alas...




Additional photos below
Photos: 5, Displayed: 5


Advertisement

Entering First ParkEntering First Park
Entering First Park

Wed, Sept 22 - 8:30am and again at 10:30am!
Scenic ShenandoahScenic Shenandoah
Scenic Shenandoah

It's amazing what you can do in 10secs!
Early Road Trip ImageEarly Road Trip Image
Early Road Trip Image

Yup. There's CJ doing the scenic highway!


Tot: 0.164s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 5; qc: 44; dbt: 0.06s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb