Packing up for Kenya


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Washington » Skagit Valley
October 23rd 2008
Published: October 23rd 2008
Edit Blog Post

We had a wonderful trip to Connecticut and NYC at the beginning of the month, a great road trip to Eastern Washington last week, and a long kayak paddle yesterday to Whidbey Island. We will leave for Seattle on Sunday, and I fly off to Kenya via Amsterdam, with my friend Vicki on Monday.

We will be staying in Nairobi for a few days and then heading north to Nyeri, where Mt. Kenya Academy is located.
http://www.mountkenyaacademy.com/index.htm

Next blog will be from Kenya!






Additional photos below
Photos: 9, Displayed: 9


Advertisement

Perfect Kayaking WeatherPerfect Kayaking Weather
Perfect Kayaking Weather

We took a three hour paddle out to Dugalla Bay on Whidbey Island, almost directly across from our beach. The water was perfectly calm...lots of migratory birds, and few boats. The views of Mt Baker and the Cascades were breathtaking...
At the beach where I grew up:  Giants NeckAt the beach where I grew up:  Giants Neck
At the beach where I grew up: Giants Neck

This was a perfect day...almost warm enough to swim. We walked around in the sunshine and visted all my favorite childhood places...
My mom, stepdad Ned, Bill, and me at Devils HopyardMy mom, stepdad Ned, Bill, and me at Devils Hopyard
My mom, stepdad Ned, Bill, and me at Devils Hopyard

I went here with my grandparents when I was small. The foliage was beautiful that day...but I couldn't find the potholes that give the park its name...
New York Public Library LionsNew York Public Library Lions
New York Public Library Lions

We were surprised at how close everything seemed in Manhattan. We walked from our apartment through half of Central Park and back....and saw so many landmarks...
An American CathedralAn American Cathedral
An American Cathedral

This is our first American Cathedral on the blog! ...St Patrick's in NYC.
The PalouseThe Palouse
The Palouse

The hills here are made from loess, a fine yellow dust that blew in thousands of years ago...


Tot: 0.071s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 11; qc: 29; dbt: 0.0381s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb