Hagerstown, Maryland to Wytheville, Virginia


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
June 19th 2011
Published: July 22nd 2011
Edit Blog Post

The Shenadoah ValleyThe Shenadoah ValleyThe Shenadoah Valley

The Shenadoah Valley was both beautiful and not hot.
Sunday June 19,2011 Wytheville, Virginia
Started driving home today. I left Hagerstown , Maryland around 11:00 and drove down 81 towards Roanoke which I figured would be my destination for the day. It was cloudy when I started out but cleared up and since I was in the Shenandoah Valley surrounded by mountains it stayed cool.
The Shenandoah Valley is about as close to a picture of paradise as it gets. Lots of greenery and well tended farmlands. Bordered on both sides by the blue ridge mountains. It really is a beautiful place.
I'm sure glad I chose to drive back through it.
When I got to Roanoke I didn't find any motels I liked so I headed farther down the road to Wytheville. The motel 6 here was a dump so I passed on it. The Days Inn didn't have any rooms on the first floor and I wasn't going to haul my stuff up some stairs. The third place I checked was the Travel Lodge at 140 Lithia Road which I got either with my senior rate or AARP rate ( I don't know which) for just $51.45. It was a nice room with a good view of the
Wytheville Travel LodgeWytheville Travel LodgeWytheville Travel Lodge

The Wythville Travel Lodge had the best location with the best price I found.
mountain.
I had intended to only drive 200 miles today but ended up going 278 miles. The drive was so cool and comfortable it was a pleasant drive.
Oh well ; guess I will drink my tea and think things over while I look at the mountain.


Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement



Tot: 0.11s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 11; qc: 24; dbt: 0.0793s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb