Gettysburg


Advertisement
Published: June 26th 2011
Edit Blog Post

Confederate canon at GettysburgConfederate canon at GettysburgConfederate canon at Gettysburg

The Confederate canon from this position supported Longstreets attack as well as Pickett's charge.
June 18 Gettysburg
Checked out of the Motel 6 in Hagerstown and headed North on 81 into Pennyslvania intending to cut across on Hwy 30 at Chambersburg to Gettysburg. When I got to Gettysburg it was bumper to bumper traffic across town to the Visitor Center on the other end of town. I see now I should have went across on I-70 to Frederick and then North on Hwy 15. Although a longer drive it takes you right in to the Visitor Center Entrance on the South end of town. I finally got to the visitor center but all they cared about was selling tickets to the various shows they had as well as food at their cafeteria and stuff at their gift shops. I did good to get a map out of them of the battlefield.
There was a pretty good driving tour of the battlefield which I drove around. It took a few hours as it was a 3 day battle and ranged from West of the town through the town and to Cemetery Ridge on the East side of the town. There were several sites worth getting out of the truck and walking around. Most notably the beginning
The field across which Pickett led his charge.The field across which Pickett led his charge.The field across which Pickett led his charge.

This is the field across which Pickett led his famous charge. The monument in the distance was the location of the Union Positions.
point of Pickett's Charge, The Devils Den, Little Round Top and the point on Cemetery Ridge where Picketts Charge ended. A few hundred Confederates broke through the Union line but they were quickly killed or captured.
This point I was at on Cemetery Ridge was the most North the Confederate Army went so I figured it was about as far as I was going as well. I had intended on staying the night in Gettysburg but it was too crowded and too many kids for my taste. After touring the Gettysburg battlefield to my satisfaction I headed south back to Hagerstown to rent another room for the night intending to head down the Shenandoah Valley and back towards Texas the next day.
(more photo's below ad)


Additional photos below
Photos: 12, Displayed: 12


Advertisement

The Devil's DenThe Devil's Den
The Devil's Den

Site of much bitter fighting and location used by Confederate Sharpshooters to fire on Little Round Top.
Sharpshooter position at DevilSharpshooter position at Devil
Sharpshooter position at Devil

This was the Sharpshooters position on Devils Den of the famous picture of the dead Confederate soldier.
Truck is ready to go Truck is ready to go
Truck is ready to go

This is the farthers North that the Army of Northern Virginia went and it will be the same for me. I'm heading south back to Texas!


Tot: 0.065s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 10; qc: 25; dbt: 0.0353s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb