Katie's turn to drive.


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Virginia
June 12th 2007
Published: June 12th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Blogger: DJ

Location: EBF

So the video blog took forever to upload. We wont be trying to do that again from katie's camera because even after lowering the resolution and the FPS (frames per second) the 1 minute file was over 26 megs (not Megsys) so considering that we are uploading from a cell phone based dialup... yeah, we'll have to try something different.

So Katie started off today driving about 60 miles or so, then I knocked off 100 but I am too darn sleepy to keep going. We just stopped for dinner at a place called Shoney's and got back on th road about 6:40. Hopefully I can nap while Katie drives for a bit.

I don't have much to say, but I'll relay these conversational tibbits:

DJ: Have you ever seen any Kevin Smith Movies?
Katie: I don't think so?
DJ: Clerks, Mallrats, Dogma, Chasing Amy...
Katie {interrupting excitedly} : Like the TV show?!
DJ : That's Judging Amy.
Katie : Oh. {happily reaffirming to herself} I like the TV show.

DJ: It's cool that they gave us the audio book version of Kerouac's "On the Road"
Katie {Munching on Cheez-Its} : Who's that?
DJ: Kerouac? um... very influential 50's writer. Almost the founder of the beat generation and critic of American culture.
Katie: So he's very important and influential.
DJ: Yes.
Katie: Like Cheez-Its. {munch, munch}

I love my sister. Ok nap now. It's 7:00 pm. Don't expect another update for at least an hour.

Miles to go today at end of blog: 174.8

Advertisement



13th June 2007

Dear God, Katie!
13th June 2007

Any more maps?
I liked the map - can we have a new one? Oh I hope I don't have to make my own!!!!
13th June 2007

Matt Dillon is my Hero
On the Road was my idea. Sorry if it doesn't make up for the sunscreen (which I didn't say was "silly," in that sun screen is silly, but I assumed you would either a) have it with you or b) be able to pick it up very easily, unlike many of the other items in the kit).

Tot: 0.114s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 11; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0564s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb