Pre-Departure


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont
December 24th 2009
Published: December 24th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Tonight I am preoccupied by thoughts about my upcoming trip. I leave in 11 days and there is still so much to do.

As I often do when I should be doing a million other things, I pulled out the memory box I keep under my bed and read through old newspaper clippings and birthday cards. A productive use of my time, I know.

I found a drawing I did when I was fourteen-years-old. It features Charlie Brown, arms spread, nose in the air, with his mouth open so wide his tonsils are showing. I had written the following caption: "AAAAAAAAAHHHHHHHHHH! Good Grief! I'm starting high school in two days...."

I love this drawing. Clearly my fourteen-year-old self was perplexed by the prospect of entering high school. It stands to reason that my twenty-year-old self would be feeling at least a little bit anxious about spending a semester in Costa Rica.

But this is something I have wanted for a long time; it was my resolution last January, and here I am exactly one year later. On January 3rd I really will be "leaving on a jet plane."

Pura Vida!

Advertisement



6th January 2010

!!!!!
I love this tooo!!!!

Tot: 0.108s; Tpl: 0.016s; cc: 7; qc: 51; dbt: 0.0748s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb