First Impressions or Noteworthy Experiences of Days One and Two


Advertisement
Published: January 5th 2010
Edit Blog Post

The first thing I noticed when I stepped out of the airport in San Jose was the air. Even at 9:00 at night the air was warm. It felt like Florida. La Universidad de Veritas had arranged for someone to be there to pick me up and I was driven to my home stay with three other students. One was from Pennsylvania, another from Colorado, and a third from SCHENECTADY, NY. (She was more than a little surprised when I told her that was my mother’s hometown.) Our driver only spoke Spanish. I was so tired I didn’t understand anything he said except when he pointed out a transvestite on a street corner, but even that was a little confusing.

I was the last student to be dropped off but my host family was waiting with a warm welcome. They introduced themselves as Mami y Kiki. They’re real names, though, are Sonia and Enrique. They have been hosting exchange students for eight years now so “Mami” was able to answer most of my questions before I even asked them, including the big one: “DO YOU HAVE WIRELESS INTERNET?” Which, (gracias a Dios) she does.

In the morning I met Laura. She’s a student from Alabama and she is staying in the second spare bedroom in our house. Her plane landed much earlier than mine and she had already gone to bed by the time I got in the night before. We realized today that we have the same academic schedule so we’re able to walk to and from the university together. I’m glad I have someone to travel with. It’s always better to travel in packs.

The mantra for our orientation was, “Costa Rica is a safe country----for intelligent people.” Most of the advice we received sounded suspiciously like what Uncle Jim has been telling me for years. As it turns out, common sense is as important in Central America as it is in the States.

Our host mother showed us the way to the school on the first morning and any of you who have gotten lost with me before (Joline, I am thinking particularly of our infamous trip to Boston) won’t be surprised to learn that I had to ask this morning if she would accompany me to school just “una vez mas”. (one more time) Today Laura and I walked home by ourselves and after some fumbling with the key in the front gate (every house in Costa Rica, even the ones in the safest parts of the country, are surrounded by metal railings) we made it inside.

The most ironic occurrence of the trip so far revealed itself last night. After hours and hours of warnings about the importance of being aware of my surroundings and watching for pick-pocketers I realized when I was getting ready for bed that I still had a glass from the university cafeteria in my purse. Little did the orientation directors know that they had a little klepto “gringa” on their hands. I laughed when I saw it and returned it this morning.

My classes are going to be intense because my semester is short. I learned today that I qualified for the Spanish elective courses. This was great news but it also means that I will be in class speaking Spanish for 6-8 hours 4 days a week, and for 4 hours on Friday mornings.

I’ve resolved to work as hard as I can during the week because I’d like to reserve my weekends here for as many adventures as possible. Our program has already planned one excursion for each weekend in the month of January. This weekend we’re visiting an active Volcano. We’ll swim in natural hot springs that are heated by the Volcano and then we’re riding horse-back to a waterfall.

The word of the day is probar which means: to test, to prove, or to try. It’s an appropriate word I think because I feel like it’s why I’m here right now; I’m here to try new things, to test old assumptions, and to prove to myself that I can do this. For now, that’s my focus: “probando cosas nuevas” (trying new things).

Pura Vida!


Advertisement



5th January 2010

very nice!
I like your blog, and I am SO jealous that I am not in San Jose!!! It all sounds wonderful...keep up the good attitude! I love you! dad
5th January 2010

Such great experiences!
Hi Sweetie, I loved reading this entry. Your descriptions help me picture you there. It sounds like things are off to a great start. Way to go qualifying for the Spanish elective courses! I'm glad you returned the glass to the cafeteria... that's my girl ;) Work hard, but not too hard. Have fun. Be safe. I love you- Mom PS Maybe you can post some pictures too!
6th January 2010

You are amazing :)
I'm glad you're keeping a travel blog. I vow to visit as often as I can. I'm glad you had a safe flight and I hope your time spent in Costa Rica is safe and fun. <3 Sara
6th January 2010

so excited for you cara! sounds like you're having a great time already!
6th January 2010

!!!!!
I love this!!!!!!!!!
6th January 2010

so exciting!!!
Oh my word chiquita you must be having the most wonderful time! I am so happy that you got into your Spanish elective courses because I know how anxious you were about the oral test to get into them! I'm also happy the wolf Faye and I gave you is helping you stay safe (re: talking about traveling in packs) and very happy to hear that you and Laura are able to walk to and from class together! I must confess something to you though: I am JEALOUS beyond I don't know what that you are going to dance lessons! You must teach me your ways when you return, I hope you enjoy it, isn't dancing the most wonderful thing? I will write you more soon-ish. I know I keep copping out with the long messages but I feel like I will improve on writing them when I get back to school! Love you mean it miss you big time!
6th January 2010

Really liking this Cad
Really liking this blog Cad, I figured I'd put a comment here because there's a comment box, but I will also write in your facebook comment box right now.
6th January 2010

Cara, this sounds like it's going to be a truly magnificent journey and adventure for you! I am so excited to continue reading about your time in Costa Rica. I loved the last paragraph, about "probar"...that seems like a perfect way to sum up what you're doing! Keep on enjoying and never hesitate to try everything and anything (well, safely!). Hasta luego!! (One of the few Spanish things I can say!)
6th January 2010

HAAHAH did why is your name "pepe" gallagher???
my subject is my question
7th January 2010

Such a cool niece!
Cara - All of it sounds so wonderful, except for you being exhausted that first night - and that's because you were up to God-only-knows what hour the night before! Thank you for providing us with this blog, I will look forward to reading about everything! You guys are keeping me young - I've never blogged before and I think I'm gonna like it! Wear sunscreen on those days you don't have your nose in your books. Enjoy, be safe, love you!
10th January 2010

Sí se puede!
Cara, this is incredible! I'm so happy to hear your semester's getting off to a great start. And also that you have words of the day, what a good idea. The courseload sounds quite challenging, but I know you're up to it. Cheers to PROBAR. As a side note, the first thing I noticed when I walked outside this morning also happened to be the air. It burned my throat and froze my eyelashes together. Disfruta el sol costarricense! Cuidate querida amiga Katie

Tot: 0.089s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 12; qc: 57; dbt: 0.0448s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb