American Booty: The Club


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Vermont » Fair Haven
October 6th 2006
Published: October 6th 2006
Edit Blog Post

It had been 31 days since arriving in the United States of America and today, there was nothing planned on the agenda for today. I always try and plan a rest day in all my travels but I had to wait this long before I was able to do it! My feet will thank me later on tonight when we head to ‘the club’!

Dani had to run off and bring one of her cats over while I stayed at home and watched endless re-runs of Passions, followed by Family Matters. I sewed my bag up again and made sure that I had all relevant paperwork ready to cross the border into Canada.

By the time Dani came home in the afternoon, we discussed the game plan for tomorrow’s big road trip to Toronto. She had decided to go because she had to see a friend (Greg) over there as well, so she was actually going to be ‘on tour’ as well this coming weekend! What a great result!

As daytime turned into night, Dani heard that some of her friends couldn’t make it out tonight and the ones that were heading out were going to a karaoke night. ‘The club’ was somewhere far away and mysterious, so it wouldn’t be worth our while if only both of us went out.

We drove past KFC and I actually entered in via the back. I haven’t been in ‘the back’ of a fast food chain in ages so it was a little different to see things here. I bet if I spent enough time here, I could get all the equipment working by myself in no time. We pick up a friend of Dani’s, Dawn and a friend of Dawn’s and we go on down to Maccas to get something to eat. I have to explain to everyone that McDonalds is called Maccas (colloquially) and everyone laughs and giggles.

We’re off to Mr Karaoke tonight and it’s been a fair while since I have jumped on the mic. Dani sings a song first and we all cheer her on, and before too long I’m up there doing Rick James’ Superfreak. By the end, Dani and I do a duet to John Travolta and Olivia Newton-John, You’re The One That I Want!

On the way home, we stop off and pick up some booze to drink
Dani @ Mr KaraokeDani @ Mr KaraokeDani @ Mr Karaoke

Singing her heart out!!!!
at home. I am reunited with some Otter Creek Pale Ale and it’s such a nice drop. Dani and I watch more of The Girl from Tomorrow before her senses kick in and she goes to sleep. I offer her back her bed while I’ll sleep on the couch tonight with the cats. That is if I do get to sleep, after all, I can’t get enough of late night American TV, nor of this Otter Creek…


Advertisement



Tot: 0.066s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 12; qc: 28; dbt: 0.0231s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb