Golf and family


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
June 8th 2009
Published: June 10th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Today I left Finn to go visit my relatives that live in Houston. I had been here in the end of April and seen everyone so it wasn’t much of a grand affair. But it was fun.

My mom’s uncle John (my great uncle), her cousin John Ross, a friend of theirs, Gary, and I played golf near Ellington Air Force Base in the morning. My golf game was lousy except the last five holes (+2) when I remembered how to play. But we had a lot of fun regardless of the scoring. That’s what good company and some beer will do. Throughout the round, we could see and hear the F-15s flying in the area.

I headed back to John’s house in Seabrook to see my Great Aunt Ginnie, drop off my things and get cleaned up. They live a few blocks away from the beach in East Texas so John and I headed out for a walk down to the beach and back.

Seabrook was hit hard by Hurricane Ike last fall. When we were down in April, there were still many piles of rubble and even a completely destroyed home where you could see straight into the kitchen. I was surprised how much the area had been cleaned up over the last few weeks as that house was gone and most of the debris was, too.

We had dinner in Kemah at a place called Landry’s. Kemah is a part of Houston where many boats are docked. It features a small boardwalk and many shops and restaurants and a few rides for kids. It’s like the Jersey shore but nicer. Landry’s is a seafood chain located in several parts of Texas. The one in Kemah allows for great viewing of boats that come in and out of the nearby harbors.

Tomorrow I head out very early to San Antonio.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.042s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0236s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1mb