Take me out to the ballgame


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Houston
June 7th 2009
Published: June 9th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Astros GameAstros GameAstros Game

A view from my seat at the Astros game. I wish I could get seats like this in Philly without taking out a bank loan.
After the third late night in a row last night (at least it was a 3:00 bedtime instead of 4:00), I caught rack until about 10:00. Finding breakfast at 11:00 (or anytime downtown, for that matter) was tough so we opted for pizza. Nice and nutritious.

While Finn went into work for a few hours, I went to the Astros game. I love baseball in the South. Again I had no trouble walking right up to the ticket window and getting a great seat. $50 for a second row seat right by the visiting team’s on deck circle. The visitors were the Pirates. A Pittsburgh team. Great for some friendly ragging.

The game was quite enjoyable with several lead changes. And Pittsburgh lost - all the better. I had to question the baseball acumen of one loud fan behind me. I hope he’s not representative of the typical local fan, as he requested Pirate players hit into double plays while there were two outs and was concerned about the prospect of a steal with two outs, a runner on second and down by 2. At least Philly fans’ obnoxiousness is backed by some smarts.

But what this guy
Me at Goode'sMe at Goode'sMe at Goode's

I love the mesquite in the background.
lacked in intelligence the others made up for in a very friendly environment. It reminded me more of a minor league game than a major league one. The stadium maintains a very family oriented atmosphere and everyone had a fun day. The kids could even run the bases after the game.

Tonight, Finn and I did a short run in a nearby park and went out for BBQ at one of the best BBQ joints in town, Goode Co. Texas BBQ. It was well worth it as we chomped down beef brisket and ribs on the outside patio.

The tables were sit-anywhere family style. Joining us were two women from the area; a mother and her daughter. They were extremely hospitable, exactly what we’d expect to find down here. As we dined we talked quite a bit about Texas and its customs. We all think that Finn would look quite dapper in a set of boots, a belt buckle and a cowboy hat. He continues to be stubborn and refuses to adopt the local fashion.

Tomorrow I head out to see family while I’m still in Houston.



Additional photos below
Photos: 3, Displayed: 3


Advertisement

Finn and IFinn and I
Finn and I

Goode's is not a classy place, as you can see.


Tot: 0.238s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 8; qc: 62; dbt: 0.1969s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb