Day 14 - Dallas


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Dallas
July 31st 2009
Published: August 2nd 2009
Edit Blog Post

Woken up by Michelle who was going on an optional day trip to Fortworth. I decided to give it a miss and sleep in. I was woken up by housekeeping and figured it was about 10-10.30? Checked about 10 clocks because I couldn't believe the real time - 1.30pm. Think my body's trying to tell me I need more sleep =P
Missed everyone going to the 6th Floor Museum, so I walked down there by myself. It's all about JFK's assassination, and is on the 6th floor of the old book depository building where Lee Harvey Oswald was when he shot JKF. It was really eiry, especially when you were standing where he was, looking out the window down where JFK and Jackie were in the car... Anyway it was really interesting but really sad and kinda creepy.
As I was walking back to the hotel I stopped and had a quick look at his memorial. Again, pretty sad.
Was at the hotel for a little bit, then got ready for a real Texan Rodeo!
Was really excited about it... but as soon as it started I was just so shocked at how full on it was. And i felt sooo sorry for the animals... And they were going on about how much fun the animals were having when it's really quite clear they weren't.
Good part of the rodeo - I won some boots! When they were handing out the programs I noticed I had one with an autograph on it, when noone elses did. About half way through they said something about it and that the person with that program was to go to the enterence to collect their price. So Michelle and I went on a wild goose chase trying to find wherever we were supposed to go, and when we finally did, the guy gave me my prize... A $50 giftcard for a tractor supplies company... Accepted and walked off laughing... When am I gonna need tractor supplies?? He ended up running after us and swapped prizes so instead I got a free pair of boots! Woot! I have to mail off for them tho so we''ll see how that goes..
Got back to the hotel, decided to have another night in, spoke to Mum, Dad and Kiah on skype, then headed to Carl's room for a pj party with him and Jo.
Went back to my room and was facebooking and spoke to Chris which was really good =)
Michelle got home, told me all the goss from the night then we went to bed!

Advertisement



Tot: 0.035s; Tpl: 0.008s; cc: 8; qc: 23; dbt: 0.0197s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1004.4kb