Texas is hot


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Texas » Austin
June 10th 2009
Published: June 11th 2009
Edit Blog Post

“The heat! My God, the heat!”


- Elaine Benes from Seinfeld

“Oh it’s too hot today.”


- Cayman Islands Guy from The Simpsons

“It’s hot in here. Does anyone else think it’s hot in here? It's sooooooo hoooooot.”


- Megan (Hurst) Wolfinger at Metro Wine Bar (following a few drinks)

This morning I went to Enchanted Springs Ranch, which is about 25 miles outside of San Antonio. The ranch features a replica of a western town and hundreds of acres of land on which numerous wild animals lived.

When I arrived, there were several groups of kids on field trips from their summer camps and a few other small families with young children. I wondered if I just showed up at a kids’ attraction. And what does that make me, a lone, post-adolescent male in gym shorts and t-shirt, with a camera at a kiddie park? Fortunately, I was wrong and it was open to people of all ages.

After walking around for a bit to soak up the town, I began talking with one of the cowgirls on site. She walked me through some of her favorite areas, including a building with numerous pieces of western memorabilia: guns, spears and other weapons, wagons (one was a Studebaker made by the same company that went on to design the
Enchanted Springs RanchEnchanted Springs RanchEnchanted Springs Ranch

The ranch included a western town which is often featured in movies and TV shows.
auto of the same name), clothing and ranch layout when it was an actual ranch.

After this, they put on a cowboy gun-slinging skit for the crowd. It was a bit corny but seeing the characters in dress was interesting.

Finally, we took a ride around the ranch and were able to see many of the animals up close. This was what I was most looking forward to and it ended up being my favorite part. We saw several longhorns, deer, antelope, reindeer, catfish, roosters, turtles, zebras, a llama and a peacock. The most amusing part was at the end when one rooster decided to have some fun with one of the animals (I think it was a horse) when a number of different animals were in the same area together. The rooster kept getting up on the horse’s back, the horse would shake him off and the rooster would do it again.

I left the ranch early this afternoon to head north to Austin. I arrived around 3:00 and checked into the hostel. It is a really nice place in a great location, right along the river. It’s secluded and walking into the main sections of
More AnimalsMore AnimalsMore Animals

Notice the rooster sitting on the horse.
town is a bit far in the heat but I can’t complain. Luckily I have a car.

I went out to the South Austin district which has various small shops. Most were a bit touristy and designed for women but I did go into one called Allen Boots. I was thinking that Finn should stop by here so he can sport the Texas style. They had a plethora of boots, along with shirts, hats and belt buckles. I was amazed at how expensive the boots were ($300+ a pair). It ain’t cheap being a cowboy.

Today, the temperature began to creep up and it became downright hot this afternoon. Walking back to my car after my excursion in South Austin, the sweat was pouring off of me. When I got in, the car’s external thermometer read 99 degrees. Weather Underground reported today’s high at 97 degrees. Either way, that’s entirely too hot.

I decided to do a driving tour of the University of Texas. Parking was a hassle. It was still hot. The air conditioning felt nice.

Tonight I went downtown to Sixth Street for dinner and some drinks. Sixth Street is supposed to be the
BuffaloBuffaloBuffalo

The workers could call the buffalo over within inches of the fence as the buffalo expected food.
place to be at night. It was okay but I expected more. Maybe I am tainted from NYC.

I had dinner at a place that said it had 22 beers on tap. That sounded right up my alley. It only had 21 - I’m not sure what the missing one was - but it served its purpose. They were broadcasting several baseball games, had more than decent bar food and had a host of good beers. I had a chicken sandwich with black pepper and lime seasoning and teriyaki pork rib wing-like something-or-others. The pork ribs were really good. To wash it down, I went 100% local - an Austin Amber Ale (okay), a Lone Star (not that good) and a Shiner Bock (mmmmmmmmm).

Afterwards, I went and shot some pool and had another Shiner as I waited for the scene to pick up. It didn’t. Now maybe I was too early but even NYC can’t get this guy to be one to start out late. I’m an early to bed, early riser kind of guy and you can’t teach an old dog new tricks. My one goal in life is to get nightlife to start earlier -
Animals on the RanchAnimals on the RanchAnimals on the Ranch

Longhorns and deer could co-habitate without issue.
say 7:00 pm. I would love to make midnight the new 4:00 am.

It is about 11:00 pm here and the temperature is still 86 degrees.

Tomorrow I leave Austin to go to Dallas and make a stop along the way in Driftwood for some BBQ.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.158s; Tpl: 0.019s; cc: 13; qc: 33; dbt: 0.104s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb