Day by Day


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Newport
October 30th 2008
Published: November 1st 2008
Edit Blog Post

Volunteers everywhere!Volunteers everywhere!Volunteers everywhere!

When we first got here I noticed billboards everywhere talking about the Tennessee volunteers. I mentioned that Tennessee really appreciates their volunteers. They have t-shirts for volunteers, and caps, and lots of things. About the third time I said something about how Tennessee acknowledges the volunteers here, Bob informed me that Volunteers is the name of their college ball teams!! Silly name, but at least all the publicity makes more sense!

(Carson Springs Baptist Conference Center)

I've been so neglectful with blogging since we've been on this project. It's not that there isn't a lot going on, it's just that wifi service is so poor up here that it's a huge chore. We're hopeful that the next project will have better signal, and what we're really hoping is that we can use the internet in our bus.

We’re finishing up on our work projects…the guys have destructed all the buildings the camp director wants destructed, and have put yard lights in where they’re needed. We have finished the housekeeper’s office, and all the upholstered chairs in the chapel have been shampooed and wiped. Now it’s just a matter of helping with the housekeeping on Monday and Tuesday, and then we’re finished.

It got really cold here this past week….28 a couple nights. In an RV that’s really really cold! One night we had snow flurries (what’s that about???) and the wind blew cold. Bob took out our warm clothes, and it was like Christmas! I’m not putting away the shorts, though, because we’re headed south in a week! And the kicker was that while it was freezing here,
KudzuKudzuKudzu

This weed has leaves that look like ivy, and it's found along the highway, in neighborhoods, along smaller roads (like up to the camp)....it's obviously very sturdy. It chokes the trees, and any other living thing, until they die, and then the weed takes over. It's really kind of scary.
Billings was in the 70s!

Last weekend Bob and I drove to Concord, NC to visit my aunt and uncle. It’s always so great to be with family, and we had a wonderful time. The drive took us through the mountains, and was beautiful.

I’m out of news, so let’s do pictures…..



Additional photos below
Photos: 11, Displayed: 11


Advertisement

This makes me afraid to stand This makes me afraid to stand
This makes me afraid to stand

in one place very long in case it would grow over me. Like most other noxious weeds, it was brought in by someone who liked how quickly it grew, and that it would provide great ground cover....well not so great, as it turns out.
This is the last one...This is the last one...
This is the last one...

but isn't it frightening?
Gatlinburg has a space needle!Gatlinburg has a space needle!
Gatlinburg has a space needle!

Well, that's what they call it!
Fungus on a stump--Fungus on a stump--
Fungus on a stump--

enlarged. I couldn't see the blue when it was the regular size.
We had a campfire WednesdayWe had a campfire Wednesday
We had a campfire Wednesday

night. It was perfect~~chilly, but no wind. Yep, we did marshmellows too!
I caught this bee early one morning I caught this bee early one morning
I caught this bee early one morning

when it was still too cool for him to be moving. He's on one of the few remaining blooms on the butterfly bush.
Can you see the smoke rings?Can you see the smoke rings?
Can you see the smoke rings?

They're from an antique single cylinder stationary motor. (I didn't know all that--Bob told me. I thought it was just an old tractor!)
WHO KNEW????WHO KNEW????
WHO KNEW????

And we went there for the craft bazaar!


Tot: 0.169s; Tpl: 0.011s; cc: 10; qc: 62; dbt: 0.0864s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb