The Cold has arrived!


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Tennessee » Clarksville
October 25th 2007
Published: October 25th 2007
Edit Blog Post

Yesterday, I packed my school bag in a hurried fashion. Books? Check. Writing utensils? Check. Coat? No check. You see, I am notorious for rebelling against the coat until the weather becomes unbearably cold. As it turns out, in Clarksville, the first day of cold weather was unbearable. We jumped immediately from summer temperatures to winter temperatures. I hate it.
The good thing about this town is that there are so many refreshing places to go when you simply want to escape the cold. A new local favorite of mine is The Lovin’ Spoonful Café on University Avenue. Their hummus with pita is amazing, as is their turkey sandwich with cranberry mayo (I know how weird it sounds, but trust me, you won’t be disappointed.) So, yesterday I stepped outside of the cold and in there for a quick bite. The staff is extremely passionate about their jobs for the simple fact that they know they are serving a great product. My favorite is Steven, who is light-hearted and always gives great recommendations. Every day, the owner (who is always the sole cook in the kitchen) tries out a new recipe for the daily special. My favorite so far has been the Burrito Pie.
I have heard a lot of people talk about Silke’s lately, but I haven’t been there. My German family recently made their pilgrimage to the United States (right here in Clarksville), and my sister-in-law, Janina swears by Silke’s products. The other day, which was quite rainy and uncomfortable, she pointed out would be a great day to sit in Silke’s Bakery sipping on coffee and enjoying the food. It means a lot for a newcomer to this area to be so fond of our local treasures. I must make plans for this weekend to go.


Advertisement



Tot: 0.1s; Tpl: 0.01s; cc: 8; qc: 53; dbt: 0.0664s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb