Day 1 - Complete!


Advertisement
Published: June 7th 2012
Edit Blog Post

I've officially completed my first day working at BH and what a day it has been! I woke up early this morning to try to get some homework done (didn't get as much accomplished as I had hoped). Then I was supposed to have met Jane, my direct supervisor and Director of the Student Union at 9 am. I got to her office in the Union but found her meeting with someone. Upon sitting outside her office, I heard the other person's voice escalate in tone and anger. Jane calmly informed him he was being beligerent and to calm down and that she was following protocol and trying to help him. Over the next 45 minutes as I sat outside her office (and yes eavesdropping, but it was hard not to), I realized that this was another intern who is here for the summer to help with the campus garden and get that program off the ground. I listened as Jane calmly handled the situation, addressed his anxiety issues (from the sounds of it, he has anxiety issues that are deeper than just this particular situation of his belongings being stolen from a place on campus), and gave him options for resolving the situation and continuing/discontinuing the internship - reminding him that her primary concern is his health and happiness. I realized that this is exactly what we do in student affairs, and even in times of crisis; we help address students concerns, fears, anxiety, etc. We are the ones who have to remain calm and in control as we help them gain control over their emotions and development as they work to progress through these situations and we provide them the tools to effectively handle the situations themselves...in a calm, respectable manner - not yelling or shouting or getting upset with other staff. We have to recognize that their individual backgrounds are all unique and put in an unfamiliar situation, an upsetting situation, etc. causes a crisis mode and we have to help them through that.

Following that moment, Jane decided to forego our meeting and take me directly to my office! I have an OFFICE...with windows. My OWN office! Are you getting the feeling of how excited I am about this? Its my own place for 6 months? I'm starting to feel like a current/future #sapro already and so much more welcomed and empowered than I have been previously and its wonderful. 😊 I get to decorate and everything...so pictures to come, once I finish.

I went to lunch with Jane and her Lutheran Campus Ministries board. This was an enlightening experience for me because although I've been involved from a student org perspective working with religious groups, I hadn't ever concerned what happens or what thought processes are considered from the flip side. Their main concerns are growing their student population after losing so many followers, gaining student leaderhsip, and working on communication with campus (long story that many religious orgs and others fight having an off-campus "advisor" who isn't sanctioned/recognized by campus...yet is in the know of student org happenings...).

I then spent the afternoon in the Student Health Services office inputing MMR data - that was also a new experience....I have no desire to work in Health Services or with that Datatel program...but a great learning opportunity! I am not sure about KS but SD requires MMR (among other immunizations)...what a joy it was trying to figure out the system, find student IDs, figure out the paperwork they sent or faxed in....and wonder why in the world people can't simply return the form BH sends out?!?! It would make things so much simpler!

I conveniently came home, slept through dinner at the cafeteria, then went out for dinner, so now its homework time! 😊

Advertisement



7th June 2012

ENJOY!!!
Glad to see that homework did show up on your list of to-do items:) I'm sure you're going to thoroughly enjoy your time at BHSU, even if you don't have a/c!

Tot: 0.116s; Tpl: 0.018s; cc: 9; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0719s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb