Day 2 - The Fun Begins !


Advertisement
Published: June 27th 2009
Edit Blog Post

Look What I Found !Look What I Found !Look What I Found !

Tim holding the shower handle after the flood !
I have to admit, even though I was worrying myself to death last night over the whole bridge thing, the minute my head hit the pillow, I was out like a light !! There's just something about those darn Wal-Mart parking lots that's so soothing to the soul, NOT !! We didn't even open up the living room, we just retracted the bed and hit the sack ! Tim set his alarm clock for 8 am and we were off to la la land. Little did we know that we wouldn't be needing the alarm on Tim's cell phone because we were awaken, from our deep sleep, at 6 o'clock this morning by the clamorous soud of "beep, beep, beep", "beep, beep, beep", over and over and over again. Of course our initial response was that something was about to blow-up in, on or around the motorhome ! If you remember, the last time we were woke up by a horrendous sound the generator had blown up, so please forgive me if we were a little jumpy. You know I was the one that had to get up out of the bed to investigate and find out what the heck was
Tim Soaked !Tim Soaked !Tim Soaked !

I'm sorry but this is too funny !
going on. It didn't take me long to realize that the annoying beeps were coming from a forklift that was being operated by a person who decided to unload a tractor and trailer full of something right in front of us. Now you know that we park as far away from the store as possible yet we try to stay close enough to where it's safe. Let me just say that we were no where near that darn store and I still have no idea why on Earth this man decided he wanted to park all the way across the parking lot, at 6 o'clock in the morning, right in front of us ! Well, we tried to cover our heads, with our pillows, and pretend that this was not happening to us but that didn't work too well. I finally got up after listening to this for an hour and a half and decided to get my shower. As I was showering, I noticed that water was running down the shower from behind the faucet and I didn't have much water pressure. It didn't take long for the hot water to turn very cold so I hurried myself up
Yummy !Yummy !Yummy !

He loves his oatmeal with blueberries !
and got the heck out of there. I mentioned it to Tim but he ignored me and jumped in the shower anyway. After a very icy shower, he finished getting ready and decided to take a closer look at it while I prepared each of us a hot bowl of oatmeal with fresh blueberries. As I'm getting the first bowl of oatmeal out of the microwave, I hear him screaming, "Cut the water off, cut the water off !". I look towards the back of the RV at the shower and all I see is water spewing in between the shower doors and all over him. I was laughing so hard I couldn't think of where in the world to turn the water off !! I'm sorry but it was funny ya'll !! I quickly realized that the water was getting all over the bedroom carpet and I'd better get myself together and get the water turned off somehow. I managed to flip the water pump switch to off and the water eventually stopped spraying Tim in the face but I was still kinda laughing and thinking to myself "This is a sign, don't you dare let him talk you
Help !Help !Help !

Tim trying to locate and RV parts store !
into going into that underwater tunnel !". Between the beep beep beeps all morning and the water pipe busting we were hoping that the day would only get better from there. Tim immediately got on the internet and found an RV parts store that was only 6 miles from where we were so we cleaned up the mess, and Tim, and headed right on over there. Well, thirty something minutes later we finally make it to the store that was only a few miles down the road. Between the lady on the phone and Magellan, we went in cirlces for quite sometime before we finally found it. Don't fret, this isn't the only time we road around in cirlces forever today !! Well, the RV store did have the right parts we needed to repair the shower, so Tim bought them and we headed down the road a bit until he found a good place to park and my husband, the "fix-it-all" man, did just that, he replaced the entire faucet and it only took him about an hour !! Anthony, you would be so proud of your brother-in-law and if you're hiring when we get back home, he needs
I'm Not Laughing, I swear !I'm Not Laughing, I swear !I'm Not Laughing, I swear !

This is me trying not to laugh at Tim !
a job !! Tim was all excited and proud of himself and I was too but this meant only one thing to me, not that the shower was repaired but that it was time to face "THE TUNNEL" ! I strongly comtemplated taking one of the "pills" Daddy gave me before we left but ultimately I decided that I would try to be a big girl and just suck it up and do it. We began approaching the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel entrance and my heart starts to beat really really fast and I looked at Tim and said "If I die and you live, will you please take care of my kids for me ?". I also sent out several "I Love You !" text to friends and family. I'm serious ya'll, I didn't think we would make it through !!! I held my breathe and off we went, there was no going back now !! I have to admit, at first glance across the water, it was really beautiful but the more I watched the waves rollin' and the more the motorhome was rockin' the more queasy I became. Yes, unfortunately, I lost my breakfast, but, fortunately,
Beep, Beep, Beep !Beep, Beep, Beep !Beep, Beep, Beep !

The stupid forklift that woke us up this morning !
I made it to the bathroom on time ! I felt much better after that incident and ultimately made it through both underwater tunnels and all the way across the 17 mile bridge alive and well ! It took exactly 21 minutes from start to finish ! It really wasn't thaaaat bad but I definitely don't want to do it again. Well, I had conquered the Chesapeake Bay Bridge and Tunnel and now it was time to move onto bigger and better things. We continued driving on up into Maryland where we stopped at a little country store and bought some home grown tomatoes. Of course, this meant I had to make tomato sandwiches for lunch and that's exactly what I did. They were alright but they definitely were NOT Daddy's ! Tim kept on drivin' and I kept on ridin' as our travels took us through Delaware, where we stopped at a local Harley Davidson shop to pick up a t-shirt for my brother Patrick. It's a road trip tradition for us cause he loves him some Harley Davidson !! Next, we passed by Dover Downs Raceway and then continued on up into Pennsylvania. We were getting closer and
Go Coast Guards !Go Coast Guards !Go Coast Guards !

A Coast Guard boat we passed on the highway.
closer to our boy ! YAY ! We were sooooo excited to see him so we just kept on driving until we came to a dead stop on I-95 about 45 minutes away from his house. It was just like being back in Atlanta all over again. It took us two and half hours to go 45 minutes and it was pouring down rain on top of that ! The only good thing that came out of it was that Tim had to go to the little boys room so he FINALLY let me drive this monstrosity ! I think I was behind the wheel for approximately 1 minute and I may have gone 1/5 of a mile but I'll take that I guess. We eventually made it through the Friday six o'clock traffic jam and finally made it to Jonathan ! It was pouring down rain but we didn't care, we loaded his stuff up in the motorhome and hit the road. It was so awesome to see his cute little face and nothing makes me happier than to see Tim giving his baby boy a big ole' hug. Jon took the co-pilot's seat and we were off to
This is where my heart starts pounding !This is where my heart starts pounding !This is where my heart starts pounding !

The toll booth that takes you to the Chesapeake Bay Bridge / Tunnel.
dinner and then on to New Jersey. We found a Country Cookin' Buffet over in Allentown, PA so we decided to check it out and compare it to our country cooking. Of course, it didn't compare at all ! I mean, it was good, but it wasn't good old southern country cooking like we're used to. Our bellies were full and it was getting late so we made our way on up into New Jersey. This is where the real fun began (sarcastic). Somehow, Tim (pilot) and Jon (co-pilot), got us lost in New Jersey and New York and it took us over two hours to find the George Washington bridge that we needed to cross over so that we could get into Connecticut. We roamed streets that I know a motorhome shouldn't be roaming through but hey, they eventually found the bridge and I-95 and we made our way on over to Connecticut. Somewhere around 2 am, we ended up in a Wal-Mart parking lot in Stanford, CT and that's where we crashed for the night ! For those of you who were counting, yes, we went through 7 states in one day !! Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Pennsylvania, New
The Beginning !The Beginning !The Beginning !

The beginning of the Chesapeake Bay Bridge / Tunnel.
Jersey, New York, and Connecticut. I told ya'll he drives like a maniac !! Sweet Dreams !


Additional photos below
Photos: 25, Displayed: 25


Advertisement

Oh How Pretty !Oh How Pretty !
Oh How Pretty !

It was beautiful, at first !
The first underwater tunnel !The first underwater tunnel !
The first underwater tunnel !

This is the entrance to the first tunnel that actually goes under the water !
Thumble Shoal Channel Tunnel !Thumble Shoal Channel Tunnel !
Thumble Shoal Channel Tunnel !

This was pretty wild !
Let there be light !Let there be light !
Let there be light !

The light at the end of the firtst tunnel ! YAY !
Too late to turn back now !Too late to turn back now !
Too late to turn back now !

See that big gap in the bridge ? That's the second under water tunnel !
I was holdin' on tight !I was holdin' on tight !
I was holdin' on tight !

Headed towards the second tunnel.
Uggghhhhh !Uggghhhhh !
Uggghhhhh !

The neverending bridge !
It's almost over !It's almost over !
It's almost over !

Right before we were on solid ground again !
Pretty Bird !Pretty Bird !
Pretty Bird !

Some really pretty white bird !
Go Dale !Go Dale !
Go Dale !

This one's for you Patrick ! :-)
Vrooommm Vrooommm !Vrooommm Vrooommm !
Vrooommm Vrooommm !

Harley Davidson store in Delaware.
Scary !Scary !
Scary !

Some weird, freaky, scary skeleton building we passed on the highway.
Our New Co-Pilot !Our New Co-Pilot !
Our New Co-Pilot !

Isn't he just adorable ?
Come on, we're hungry !Come on, we're hungry !
Come on, we're hungry !

Tim and Jon headed into the Old Country Buffet.
Candy ! I think we're lost !Candy ! I think we're lost !
Candy ! I think we're lost !

Tim with his trusty old map and Magellan trying to get us out of New Jersey !
We're Not Lost, I Swear !We're Not Lost, I Swear !
We're Not Lost, I Swear !

Two of my favorite boys !


27th June 2009

Speed Demon
7 states in one day! With the way he drives will I actually get to 'see' New Brunswick and Nova Scotia or will it just be a BIG ole blur? Just kidding Be safe, have fun and I will see you in a few days. Love ya
28th June 2009

One Big Blur !!
Girl you know it's gonna be one big blur but as long as it's a pretty blur it won't matter ! See ya soon !!

Tot: 0.061s; Tpl: 0.014s; cc: 12; qc: 27; dbt: 0.018s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.2mb