MISSOURI, KANSAS, OKLAMOMA, 7/5 AND 7/6/2010


Advertisement
United States' flag
North America » United States » Oklahoma » Chandler
July 6th 2010
Published: July 7th 2010
Edit Blog Post

July 5, 2010

Woke up this morning, had breakfast and did a workout and we were on our way by 8:30 a.m. The drive from Lebanon to Marshfield was rolling hills, meadows and some woods. Very peaceful. Did see a dead possum in the middle of the road. The drive from Marshfield to Stafford, MO was much the same. Rt. 66 basically runs along the side of the Interstates, so when you can get away from it the scenery is really lovely. The small towns are like a snapshot in time.

In Paris Springs, MO we stopped at a rebuilt Sinclair Station. Gary Turner built a replica of the original station and loves to tell you about it and how things were way back then. He has a lot of history to tell. He sent us on our way with directions to some more things to see. Pictures included.

We finally stopped at Twin Bridges State Park in Fairland, OK for the night. The overhead air conditioning unit in the camper stopped working. Should be a really icky night. So, we will stop and get it fixed tomorrow and do laundry. I can’t post today as I could not find a place with Wifi.

July 6, 2010
We got through the night without the overhead air conditioner. Just the fan. It cooled down just enough after the sun went down to make it just bearable. Went back into Miami (Mi-am-uh) in the morning to find out where we could get the unit fixed. The very nice man at the Auto Zone store gave us a couple of places to try. The first one, in turn, gave us three phone numbers of people in Tulsa. The first one we called could not do anything, but gave us the phone number of another service. This services was one that comes to you. We met him at the Big Cabin Truck Stop at Rt. 69 and I-44. It took them about an hour to replace the unit with a new one ($$$$$$) and we were soon on our way again.

Called ahead to a camping park in Chandler where we are parked right now. First campground that has Wifi right at the site. I’ve always had to be sitting in the main building to use it before. AWSOME!! Never did get the laundry done today. Tomorrow morning for sure. Need some clean clothes.
Got more pictures along the way today. Enjoy!

Thank you everyone who have left comments or emailed. Sorry I can’t respond to each of you but I would be online all night. Keep the comments coming. I enjoy reading them.



Additional photos below
Photos: 16, Displayed: 16


Advertisement



7th July 2010

Your Trip
I am SO ENVIOUS!!!! What a GREAT TRIP!!! We did something like this back in 1978 and it was the GREATEST!!!! Know that I'm thinking about you. Be safe. Luv MJ
7th July 2010

Giant Indian
The blue whale is a hoot! What exactly is it? I seem to see windows--does someone live in it? Think I recall the (or a) giant Indian from our trip across the country in 1945, but I may have just seen a photo of it in more recent years. Let's hope the air conditioner is the only bad surprise on your sojourn. Really enjoying the blog. Thanks, Guys! Love, Gail
7th July 2010

Footwear
Were there any shoes lying around in the old shoe factory?
7th July 2010

I Love Your Travel Blog
Andrea, Your pictures are wonderful - you really are finding some classic spots along your way. I am so glad you got your air conditioning replaced. Now you will be all better. You sure are a great writer, Andrea! Now I know who your girls take after! Thanks for your interesting perspectives. I can't wait to hear more. Take care! Sally
7th July 2010

Trip
Look's like a fantistic trip!!!!!! Be safe.
7th July 2010

Way to go!
Dear Budazz-es, Loving your blogs and the pix; the best travel blog I've seen/read. Leaving tonight for France so may have spotty internet for the next two weeks but look forward to reading everything eventually! And to perhaps seeing you in CA if our dates intersect. At least I know I'll see Angelo at the reunion in August!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Godspeed, Buckie-Baker
7th July 2010

Trip
Am really enjoying your post, makes me a little homesick. We always stopped at Summit's Restaurant in Mo. Keep on having fun! Jerri
7th July 2010

Old Gas Station
Hi andrea, Enjoyed reading about your travels. sorry to learn about the air conditioning, but I'm really glad you got it replaced quickly. the old gas station reminds me of one in Gastavus, Alaska. That one however, was the only one in town and still was operational. Enjoy your travels, and keep your notes and pictures coming. It makes me feel like I'm with you. thanks for sharing.

Tot: 0.282s; Tpl: 0.015s; cc: 11; qc: 50; dbt: 0.0543s; 1; m:domysql w:travelblog (10.17.0.13); sld: 1; ; mem: 1.1mb